Verifications by your network

Last updated: 2 weeks ago

Verifications by your network help members build trust on LinkedIn by allowing eligible connections to confirm workplace and education experiences.

A verification by your network is based on confirmations from people who shared the same workplace or educational institution and can state that the experience is accurate. These verifications help others better understand who you are and the experiences you've had.

How verifications are reviewed and added

LinkedIn may identify members who are eligible to confirm a workplace or education experience on a connection's profile.

To help protect trust on the platform:

  • Only eligible members can verify others.
  • Verifiers must meet LinkedIn's eligibility requirements.
  • Members can only verify experiences they can reasonably confirm based on shared workplace or education history.
  • Members whose experiences are being verified remain in control of their profile.

When enough eligible connections confirm an experience, the member receives a notification and has an opportunity to opt out before the verification appears on their profile.

Who can verify an experience?

To verify another member's experience, a member must meet eligibility requirements established by LinkedIn. These requirements are designed to help ensure verifications come from authentic members with a credible connection to the experience being verified.

For example, verifiers must have a qualifying connection to the recipient and shared experience history related to the workplace or educational institution.

What experiences can be verified?

Verifications by your network are limited to:

  • Workplace experiences
  • Educational experiences

Identity verifications aren't supported through verifications by your network.

How verifications appear on profiles

When a verification is added to a profile, it may include:

  • The organization or institution that was verified
  • The date the verification was added
  • The profiles of the eligible connections who confirmed the experience

Members can view their verifications and manage them through their account settings.

Manage verifications from your network on your profile

When enough eligible connections confirm your affiliation with a workplace or educational institution, LinkedIn notifies you by email and gives you a 7-day period to opt out before the verification appears on your profile. You can choose to display the verification on your profile or you can opt-out of displaying the verification.

To be eligible to receive a verification confirmed by your network:

  • You must have at least one unverified workplace or education experience on your profile.
  • Eligible connections must meet the following criteria:
    • Be 1st-degree connections
    • Have overlapping dates at the same workplace or school
    • Have a workplace verification for the workplace or educational experience they are confirming
    • Have two-factor authorization enabled
    • Meet trust-based eligibility requirements

Add a verification to your profile

If your workplace or education experience is verified by people in your network, you will receive an email notification that you can add the verification to your Profile. If you want the verification displayed, it will be automatically added to your profile seven days after you received the notification email. If you do not want the verification to appear on your profile, you can choose to opt-out. You can also remove the verification at any time through your Settings.

Your profile displays the verified experience in About this member, including:

  • The organization or school
  • A verification label
  • The month and year the verification was completed
  • Information about the connections who verified the claim

Remove a verification from your profile

If a verification is included on your profile, you can remove it at any time.

  1. Sign in to LinkedIn.
  2. Click the  Me icon at the top of your LinkedIn homepage.
  3. Select Settings & Privacy from the dropdown.
  4. Click Account preferences on the left rail.
  5. Select Verifications.
  6. Delete the verification you want to remove.

The verification is removed from your profile and is no longer displayed to viewers.

Opt-out of displaying a verification confirmed by your network 

If you receive an email that a verification will be added to your profile, you can opt out of displaying the verification. If you don’t opt out, the verification will be automatically displayed on your profile within 7 days of receiving the notification email. You can always remove it later in your Settings. 

  1. Open the verification email notification.
  2. Select the opt-out link within 7 days of receiving the email.
  3. Confirm your decision.

The verification confirmed by your network isn't added to your profile.

Help your network get verified

LinkedIn may invite eligible members to help verify a connection's workplace or education experience. By verifying someone, you're confirming that you shared that experience and believe the information on their profile is accurate.

Verifications help build trust on LinkedIn by allowing members to receive verification from people who worked or studied alongside them.

Before you verify someone

To verify another member's experience, you must meet LinkedIn's eligibility requirements. For example, you must have a qualifying shared experience with the member and be eligible to grant verifications.

Verifying another member is optional. At anytime, you can revoke verifications you sumbitted.

How to verify a connection

  1. Sign in to LinkedIn.
  2. Select  Network in the top menu.
  3. Look for a verification request in the Help your network get verified section.
  4. Review the member's profile information and the workplace or education experience they're asking you to confirm.
  5. Select Confirm if you believe the information is accurate.

When confirming a verification request, you'll be reminded that:

  • Your name and profile photo may appear on the member's profile.
  • Verifications should only be granted when you're confident the experience is accurate.
  • Misuse of verifications may result in losing the ability to verify others.

Learn more