Save a post as a draft

Last updated: 1 week ago

You can save a post as a draft if you're not ready to publish it yet. Drafts let you return to your content later to continue editing or publish it when you're ready. You can create or edit drafts on desktop or mobile and continue working on them across devices.

To save a post as a draft, click Cancel while creating a post on LinkedIn.

Important to know

Drafts are synced across supported devices, allowing you to access and continue working on your saved content wherever you signed in to LinkedIn.

To save your post as a draft:

  1. Click Start a post at the top of your LinkedIn homepage to share a post.

  2. Type the content of your post in the Share your thoughts… field.

  3. Click the  Cancel button in the upper-right corner. The Save this post as a draft? pop-up window appears.

  4. Click Save as draft if you want to save a draft of your post and return later to edit and share it. A message appears stating that the draft is successfully saved.

Notes:

  • Your saved draft will automatically open for editing the next time you create a post.
  • To delete a draft, click Discard.
  • Photos and videos can't be edited after they're saved in a draft. To make changes, delete and upload them again.
  • If you want to change the visibility of your post, you'll need to re-upload any attachments.

Learn more