Glossary:European Union (EU)

Statistics Explained

The **European Union**, abbreviated as **EU**, is an economic and political union of European countries. The EU was established on 1 November 1993 by the Treaty on European Union (Maastricht Treaty).

On 31 December 1994, the EU had 12 Member States: Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal and the United Kingdom.

From January 1995, the EU added three Member States: Austria, Finland and Sweden.

In May 2004, 10 more countries joined the EU: Cyprus, Czechia, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovenia and Slovakia. On 1 January 2007, Bulgaria and Romania became members of the EU. The latest country to accede was Croatia, on 1 July 2013.

On 31 January 2020, the United Kingdom left the EU.

The EU Member States are as follows (alphabetical order, first row down, then second row down, etc.):

Further information

• Europa - The official website of the European Union

Related concepts

- Candidate countries
- Council of the European Union
- EU enlargements
- European Commission (EC)
- European Parliament (EP)

(PT)	(RO)	(SK)	(IS)	(ES)	(SE)	
Portugal	Romania	Slovakia	Slovenia	Spain	Sweden	
(IT)	(LV)	(LT)	(LU)	(MT)	(NL)	(PL)
Italy	Latvia	Lithuania	Luxembourg	Malta	Netherlands	Poland
(EE)	(FI)	(FR)	(DE)	(EL)	(HU)	(IE)
Estonia	Finland	France	Germany	Greece	Hungary	Ireland
(AT)	(BE)	(BG)	(HR)	(CY)	(CZ)	(DK)
Austria	Belgium	Bulgaria	Croatia	Cyprus	Czechia	Denmark