Showing posts with label DJ Reyburn. Show all posts
Showing posts with label DJ Reyburn. Show all posts

Wednesday, September 18, 2024

MLB Ejections 177-8 - DJ Reyburn (3-4; STL x2)

HP Umpire DJ Reyburn ejected Cardinals hitting coach Turner Ward and manager Oliver Marmol (strike three call to Lars Nootbaar; QOCY) in the bottom of the 4th inning of the #Pirates-#Cardinals game. With none out and none on, Cardinals batter Nootbaar took a 2-2 sinker from Pirates pitcher Jake Woodford for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer edge of home plate and thigh-high (px 0.84, pz 2.34), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Cardinals were leading, 4-2. The Cardinals ultimately won the contest, 10-5.

These are DJ Reyburn (17)'s 3rd and 4th ejections of 2024.
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
This pitch was located 0.90 horizontal inches from being deemed incorrect.

These are the 177th and 178th ejection reports of the 2024 MLB regular season.
This is the 30th coach ejection of 2024. 
This is the 88th manager ejection of 2024. Ejection Tally: 88 Managers, 30 Coaches, 59 Players.
This is St Louis' 9/10th ejection of 2024, 1st in the NL Central (STL 10; MIL 8; PIT 7; CHC 6; CIN 5).
This is Turner Ward's 1st ejection since Sept 7, 2023 (Laz Diaz; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Oliver Marmol's 6th ejection of 2024, 1st since Sept 3 (Lance Barrett; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is DJ Reyburn's 3/4th ejection of 2024, 1st since June 20 (Kyle McCann; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Thursday, June 20, 2024

MLB Ejection 091 - DJ Reyburn (2; Kyle McCann)

HP Umpire DJ Reyburn ejected Athletics catcher Kyle McCann (strike three call to Zack Gelof; QOCY) in the bottom of the 9th inning of the #Royals-#Athletics game. With none out and one on, Gelof took a 1-2 slider from Royals pitcher Angel Zerpa for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the heart of home plate and at the hollow of the knee (px -0.03, pz 1.50 [sz_bot 1.54 / RAD 1.42]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Royals were leading, 3-2. The Royals ultimately won the contest, 3-2.

This is DJ Reyburn (17)'s 2nd ejection of 2024.
*This pitch was located 1.92 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.

This is the 91st ejection of the 2024 MLB regular season.
This is the 33rd player ejection of 2024. Prior to ejection, McCann was 0-2 (SO) in the contest.
Ejection Tally: 45 Managers, 13 Coaches, 33 Players.
This is Oakland's 6th ejection of 2024, T-1st in the AL West (OAK, SEA 6; HOU, TEX 4; LAA 1).
This is Kyle McCann's first career MLB ejection.
This is DJ Reyburn's 2nd ejection of 2024, 1st since April 20 (Derek Shelton; QOC = Y [Pitch Clock]).

Saturday, April 20, 2024

MLB Ejection 018 - DJ Reyburn (1; Derek Shelton)

HP Umpire DJ Reyburn ejected Pirates manager Derek Shelton (automatic strike three to Michael A Taylor due to a pitch clock violation; QOCY) in the bottom of the 9th inning of the #RedSox-#Pirates game. With none out and none on, Pirates batter Michael A Taylor took a 1-1 cutter from Red Sox pitcher Kenley Jansen for a called second strike before striking out on a pitch clock violation. Replays indicate Taylor exited the batter's box with under eight seconds remaining on the pitch timer without being granted time out prior to the batter time limit, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Red Sox were leading, 4-2. The Red Sox ultimately won the contest, 4-2.

This is DJ Reyburn (17)'s 1st ejection of 2024.

This is the 18th ejection report of the 2024 MLB regular season.
This is the 8th manager ejection of 2024. Ejection Tally: 8 Managers, 3 Coaches, 7 Players.
This is Pittsburgh's 3rd ejection of 2024, 1st in the NL Central (PIT 3; CHC, CIN, MIL, STL 0).
This is Derek Shelton's 2nd ejection of 2024, 1st since April 3 (Mike Muchlinski; QOC = U [Check Swing]).
This is DJ Reyburn's 1st ejection since June 20, 2023 (Bruce Bochy; QOC = N [Replay Review]).

Tuesday, June 20, 2023

MLB Ejection 107 - DJ Reyburn (4; Bruce Bochy)

HP Umpire DJ Reyburn ejected Rangers manager Bruce Bochy (Replay Review decision overturning Reyburn's out call to safe due to a violation of the home plate collision rule; QOCN) in the bottom of the 8th inning of the #Rangers-#WhiteSox game. With one on (R2) and two out, White sox batter Zach Remillard hit a 0-1 slider from Rangers pitcher Grant Anderson on a line drive to left fielder Travis Jankowski, who threw home as White Sox baserunner R2 Elvis Andrus arrived at home plate, ruled out by HP Umpire Reyburn. Upon Replay Review as the result of a challenge by White Sox manager Pedro Grifol, Reyburn's out call was overturned to safe by virtue of a violation of the home plate collision (plate blocking) rule by Rangers catcher Jonah Heim. Replays indicate the catcher did not appear to hinder or impede the runner's pathway and/or that the runner would have been called out notwithstanding the catcher having blocked the plate, the call to overturn was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the White Sox were leading, 7-6. The White Sox ultimately won the contest, 7-6.

This is DJ Reyburn (17)'s 4th ejection of 2023.
*Official Baseball Rule 6.01(i)(2) states: "Unless the catcher is in possession of the ball, the catcher cannot block the pathway of the runner as they are attempting to score. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the catcher without possession of the ball blocks the pathway of the runner, the umpire shall call or signal the runner safe. Not withstanding the above, it shall not be considered a violation of this Rule 6.01(i)(2) if the catcher blocks the pathway of the runner in a legitimate attempt to field the throw."
OBR 6.01(i)(2) Comment states: "A catcher shall not be deemed to have violated Rule 6.01(i)(2) unless they have both blocked the plate without possession the ball (or when not in a legitimate attempt to field the throw), and also hindered or impeded the progress of the runner attempting to score. A catcher shall not be deemed to have hindered or impeded the progress of the runner if, in the judgment of the umpire, the runner would have been called out notwithstanding the catcher having blocked the plate."

This is the 107th ejection report of the 2023 MLB regular season.
This is the 52nd manager ejection of 2023. Ejection Tally: 52 Managers, 44 Players, 11 Coaches.
This is Texas' 5th ejection of 2023, T-1st in the AL West (OAK, TEX 5; LAA, SEA 4; HOU 1).
This is Bruce Bochy's 3rd ejection of 2023, 1st since June 16 (Ramon De Jesus; QOC = U [Check Swing]).
This is DJ Reyburn's 4th ejection of 2023, 1st since June 6 (Eric Chavez; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Texas Rangers vs Chicago White Sox, 6/20/23 | Video as follows:

Tuesday, June 6, 2023

MLB Ejections 090 - DJ Reyburn (3; Eric Chavez)

HP Umpire DJ Reyburn ejected Mets bench coach Eric Chavez (strike one call to Brandon Nimmo; QOCY) in the top of the 3rd inning of the #Mets-#Braves game. With one out and one on, Nimmo took a first-pitch fastball for a called first strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer half of home plate and thigh-high (px -0.32, pz 2.80), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Braves were leading, 1-0. The Braves ultimately won the contest, 6-4.

This is DJ Reyburn (70)'s 3rd ejection of 2023.
*This pitch was located 7.13 horizontal inches from being deemed incorrect.

This is the 90th ejection report of the 2023 MLB regular season.
This is the 10th coach ejection of 2023. Ejection Tally: 43 Managers, 37 Players, 10 Coaches.
This is New York's 3rd ejection of 2023, 3rd in the NL East (MIA 7; PHI 5; NYM 3; ATL 1; WAS 0).
This is Eric Chavez's first career MLB ejection.
This is DJ Reyburn's 3rd ejection of 2023, 1st since June 2 (Corbin Burnes; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: New York Mets vs Atlanta Braves, 5/6/23 | Video as follows:

Friday, June 2, 2023

MLB Ejection 085 - DJ Reyburn (2; Corbin Burnes)

HP Umpire DJ Reyburn ejected Brewers pitcher Corbin Burnes (strike one call to Victor Caratini; QOCY) in the top of the 7th inning of the #Brewers-#Reds game. With none out and none on, Caratini took a first-pitch curveball from Reds pitcher Brandon Williamson for a called first strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer edge of home plate and below the midpoint (px 0.87, pz 3.05 [sz_top 3.28]), the call was correct.*

This is DJ Reyburn (17)'s 2nd ejection of 2023.
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
This pitch was located 0.53 horizontal inches from being deemed incorrect.

This is the 85th ejection report of the 2023 MLB regular season.
This is the 37th player ejection of 2023. Ejection Tally: 39 Managers, 37 Players, 9 Coaches.
This is Milwaukee's 5th ejection of 2023, 2nd in the NL Central (STL 6; MIL 5; CIN, PIT 3; CHC 2).
This is Corbin Burnes' first career MLB ejection.
This is DJ Reyburn's 2nd ejection of 2023, 1st since April 5 (Tim Anderson; QOC = U [Unsporting]).

Wrap: Milwaukee Brewers vs Cincinnati Reds, 6/2/23 | Video as follows:

Wednesday, April 5, 2023

Ejection 002 - DJ Reyburn (1; Tim Anderson)

HP Umpire DJ Reyburn ejected White Sox SS Tim Anderson (unsportsmanlike toward opponent) in the bottom of the 3rd inning of the #Giants-#WhiteSox game. With none out and none on, Anderson took a 1-2 changeup from Giants pitcher Logan Webb for a called third strike. Replays indicate that during delivery of the pitch, Anderson walked out of the batter's box and that prior to the pitch, Webb appeared to come set prior to Anderson being ready and alert to the pitcher in the batter's box; this was an uncalled violation.* Anderson's ejection occurred after ensuing batter Luis Robert's strikeout, the call was irrecusable. At the time of the ejection, the Giants were leading, 2-0. The White Sox ultimately won the contest, 7-3.

This is DJ Reyburn (17)'s 1st ejection of 2023.

*t has been pointed out that this was Webb's windup position and after review I agree; however, replays indicate he begins his delivery motion prior to Anderson being ready in the box (Anderson was still in his preparatory motions). This takes this play from "Max Scherzer Rule" territory to potential quick pitch territory. Both actions are illegal and, in this case, both would result in the same penalty: a ball added to the count.

tldr: It was Windup Position, not Set, but the pitcher still violated the rule by starting his delivery before the batter was ready.

This is the 2nd ejection report of the 2023 MLB regular season.
This is the 2nd player ejection of 2023. Prior to ejection, Anderson was 0-2 (SO) in the contest.
This is Chicago-AL's 1st ejection of 2023, 1st in the AL Central (CWS 1; CLE, DET, KC, MIN 0).
This is Tim Anderson's 1st ejection since July 29, 2022 (Nick Mahrley; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is DJ Reyburn's 1st ejection since Aug 27, 2022 (Brian Anderson; QOC = N [Out/Safe]).

Wrap: San Francisco Giants vs Chicago White Sox, 4/5/23 | Video as follows:

Saturday, August 27, 2022

MLB Ejection 147 - DJ Reyburn (3; Brian Anderson)

2B Umpire DJ Reyburn ejected Marlins RF Brian Anderson (out call/runner forced off base; QOCN) in the bottom of the 4th inning of the #Dodgers-#Marlins game. With one out and one on (R2), Marlins batter Brian Anderson hit a 2-2 fastball from Dodgers pitcher Dustin May on a line drive to left fielder Joey Gallo, who threw to second baseman Chris Taylor as Marlins batter-runner Anderson arrived at second base, ruled safe initially by 2B Umpire Reyburn before being ruled out for being tagged while off the base on a potential overslide. Replays indicate that during Anderson's slide into second base, he was forced or pushed off the base by the glove of Taylor in what appeared to be a pushing action excessive to a hard tag, the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 1-1. The Marlins ultimately won the contest, 2-1.

This is DJ Reyburn (70)'s 3rd ejection of the 2021 MLB regular season.
Official Baseball Rule 5.06(a)(1): "A runner acquires the right to an unoccupied base when they touch it before they are out. They are then entitled to it until they are put out, or forced to vacate it for another runner legally entitled to that base."
MLB Umpire Manual Interpretation for Rule 5.06(a)(1) (Runner Pushed Off Base): "If in the judgment of an umpire, a runner is pushed or forced off a base by a fielder, intentionally or unintentionally, at which the runner would have otherwise been called safe, the umpire has the authority and discretion under the circumstances to return the runner to the base they were forced off following the conclusion of the play."

This is the 147th ejection report of the 2022 MLB regular season.
This is the 47th player ejection of 2022. Prior to ejection, Anderson was 1-2 in the contest.
This is Miami's 9th ejection of 2022, 1st in the NL East (MIA 9; WAS 4; ATL, PHI 2; NYM 1).
This is Brian Anderson's first career MLB ejection.
This is DJ Reyburn's 3rd ejection of 2022, 1st since July 15 (Aaron Boone; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Los Angeles Dodgers vs Miami Sideburns, 8/27/22 | Video as follows:

Monday, August 15, 2022

Ask UEFL - Yankees' Rizzo Denied HBP by Umpire Reyburn

Yankees manager Aaron Boone fruitlessly argued and Anthony Rizzo bemoaned umpires' lack of accountability after HP Umpire DJ Reyburn denied a hit-by-pitch in New York, despite the pitched ball contacting the batter's leg. But was this the correct call all along?

Official Baseball Rule 5.05(b)(2) governs the case of a pitched ball touching a batter: "The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be put out (provided they advance to and touch first base) when: They are touched by a pitched ball which they are not attempting to hit unless (A) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter [in which event the pitch is deemed a dead ball strike], or (B) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball [in which event the pitch is adjudged as a dead ball {called ball} or strike depending on its location as it struck the batter]."

Replays suggest that New York batter Rizzo, during Rays pitcher Ryan Yarbrough's 3rd inning, 1-2 curveball, not only made no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball, but that Rizzo may have furthermore leaned his leg in toward home plate, in a potential attempt to increase the likelihood that he would be struck by the ball.

After the ball touched Rizzo, Umpire Reyburn immediately enforced OBR 5.05(b)(2) by calling "Time" to acknowledge the dead ball that occurs when any pitched ball touches a batter before declaring a dead ball [called ball] and ordering Rizzo to remain at-bat, ruling that Rizzo failed to satisfy the terms of the rule that would have afforded him free passage to first base.

By the by, in 2019, Reds batter Derek Dietrich was hit by a pitch located within the strike zone, but was improperly awarded first base. Most times, batters touched by the ball are awarded first base out of habit, but as OBR 5.05(b)(2) indicates, there are two definitive cases in which a batter should not be given a free base when a pitched ball contacts them.

Sidebar: It is legal for a batter to "crowd the plate," provided that the batter is legally positioned with both feet within the batter's box [including touching the box's lines], and a base awarded should be granted pursuant to OBR 5.05(b)(2) unless either exception A [ball in strike zone] or B [makes no attempt to avoid] applies.

On Monday night in New York, Reyburn ensured the rule's attempt-to-avoid provision was applied.

Video as follows:

Friday, July 15, 2022

MLB Ejection 102 - DJ Reyburn (2; Aaron Boone)

HP Umpire DJ Reyburn ejected Yankees manager Aaron Boone (strike one call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 9th inning of the #RedSox-#Yankees game. With none out and one on (R1), Yankees batter Matt Carpenter took a first-pitch splitter from Red Sox pitcher Tanner Houck for a called first strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer half of home plate and at the hollow of the knee (px -0.61, pz 1.59 [sz_bot 1.84 / RAD 1.71 / MOE 1.63]), the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the Red Sox were leading, 4-3. The Red Sox ultimately won the contest, 5-4, in 11 innings..

This is DJ Reyburn (70)'s 2nd ejection of 2022.
DJ Reyburn now has 0 points in the UEFL Standings (2 Prev + 2 MLB - 4 Incorrect Call = 0).
Crew Chief Jim Reynolds now has 2 points in Crew Division (2 Previous + 0 Incorrect Call = 2).
*This pitch was located 0.48 vertical inches from being deemed correct.

This is the 102nd ejection report of the 2022 MLB regular season.
This is the 53rd manager ejection of 2022.
This is New York's 8th ejection of 2022, T-1st in the AL East (NYY, TOR 8; BAL, BOS, TB 3).
This is Aaron Boone's 5th ejection of 2022, 1st since July 10 (Tripp Gibson; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is DJ Reyburn's 2nd ejection of 2022, 1st since May 7 (Garrett Cooper; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Saturday, May 7, 2022

MLB Ejection 028 - DJ Reyburn (1; Garrett Cooper)

HP Umpire DJ Reyburn ejected Marlins 1B Garrett Cooper (strike two call; QOCY) in the top of the 8th inning of the #Marlins-#Padres game. With none out and none on, Padres batter Garrett Cooper took a first-pitch changeup and 0-1 curveball from Padres pitcher Nabil Crismatt for called first and second strikes before striking out swinging on a 0-2 changeup. Replays indicate the first and second pitches were located over the inner edge of home plate and thigh-high (strike one: px -0.90, pz 2.75 / strike two: px -0.86, pz 2.72), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Marlins were leading, 3-0. The Marlins ultimately won the contest, 8-0.

This is DJ Reyburn (70)'s 1st ejection of 2022.
DJ Reyburn now has 4 points in Crew Division (0 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 4).
Crew Chief James Hoye now has 2 points in Crew Division (1 Previous + 1 Correct = 2).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
The 0-0 pitch was located 0.17 and 0-1 pitch was located 0.65 horizontal inches from QOCN.

This is the 28th ejection report of the 2022 MLB regular season.
This is the 10th player ejection of 2022. Prior to ejection, Cooper was 2-4 (SO) in the contest.
This is Miami's 2nd ejection of 2022, T-1st in the NL East (MIA, WAS 2; ATL, NYM, PHI 1).
This is Garrett Cooper's first career MLB ejection.
This is DJ Reyburn's 1st ejection since September 12, 2020 (Joey Votto; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Miami Marlins vs San Diego Padres, 5/7/22 | Video as follows:

Thursday, December 16, 2021

Umpires Gibson, Reyburn Return to Tripp's KY Hometown to Rebuild Mayfield After Tornado

MLB umpire Tripp Gibson returned to his hometown of Mayfield, Kentucky, and was joined by colleague DJ Reyburn as the pair helped members of the community pick up the pieces after a tornado devastated the town.

Gibson described the scene to MLB.com: "The movie ‘Twister’ is nothing compared to the damage I’ve seen. To me, it’s just as eerie as New York City, Times Square, during COVID. It just doesn’t seem real. The landmark buildings that you use as waypoints are gone. You’re thinking, ‘I don’t even know where I am in this city right now.'"

UmpsCare Charities has set up a fundraising campaign to benefit those impacted by the tornadoes in Mayfield through The Independence Bank - Mayfield Graves Co. Tornado Relief Fund. As of Thursday, Umps Care had received $31,610 of a target goal of $25,000.

Monday, June 28, 2021

Crew Consultation & Getting It Right - Heyward's Foul HR

When 3B Umpire DJ Reyburn's initial home run call on Cubs batter Jason Heyward's drive into the left field stands at Dodger Stadium was changed to that of foul ball, eventually confirmed via Replay Review, it illustrated the officiating axiom of getting the call right as a priority.

To review, Heyward led off the 7th inning of Saturday's Cubs-Dodgers game in Los Angeles by hitting Dodgers pitcher Garrett Cleavinger's 1-2 slider into the grandstand beyond the left field corner and near the foul pole. 3B Umpire Reyburn initially signaled fair and home run, but 2B Umpire and Crew Chief Brian O'Nora's crew convened and Reyburn reversed the original ruling to an on-field call of foul ball.

The on-field call went to Replay Review, which confirmed the foul ball call, as video evidence indicated the batted ball left the playing field to the foul territory side of the foul pole; the white ball crossed over the yellow pole from camera angles near the infield.

In 2018, we first discussed the MLB Umpire Manual's entry for Crew Consultation and Getting the Call Right, and it bears repeating here.

In 2017, we discussed the importance of the call on the field—which is why getting together as a crew to get the call right before going to Replay Review is so important.

Official Baseball Rule 8.02(c) further allows for rectifying a play after reversing an initial call. The main idea is that the original umpire may consult crewmates—asking for help, as it were—in several specific situations, one of which is ruling fair/foul on a ball that leaves the playing field in flight: HR or foul ball. 

Although no umpire shall seek to overturn or overrule a crewmate, the calling umpire may, in certain circumstances such as HR vs foul, ask for help and upon receiving this information decide whether or not to change their original call.

Thus, Reyburn determined based on additional information supplied by the crew that the batted ball was foul and Reyburn accordingly changed his initial home run call to that of foul ball, a decision and a call that was confirmed by Replay Review when the Replay Official determined the ball did indeed conclusively, with clear and convincing visual evidence, leave the field in foul territory.

Video as follows:

Saturday, September 12, 2020

MLB Ejection 55 - DJ Reyburn (2; Joey Votto)

HP Umpire DJ Reyburn ejected Reds 1B Joey Votto (strike three call; QOCY) in the top of the 9th inning of the #Reds-#Cardinals game. With none out and none on, Votto took a 2-2 slider from Cardinals pitcher Rob Kaminsky for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the inner half of home plate and thigh-high (px 0.64, pz 2.27) and that all other pitches during the at-bat were properly officiated, the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Cardinals were leading, 7-1. The Cardinals ultimately won the contest, 7-1.

This is DJ Reyburn (17)'s second ejection of 2020.
DJ Reyburn now has 2 points in the UEFL Standings (-2 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 2).
Crew Chief Laz Diaz now has -3 points in Crew Division (-4 Previous + 1 Correct Call = -3).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
*This pitch was located 3.288 horizontal inches from being deemed incorrect.

This is the 55th ejection report of the 2020 MLB regular season.
This is the 26th player ejection of 2020. Prior to ejection, Votto was 1-4 (SO) in the contest.
This is Cincinnati's 7th ejection of 2020, 1st in the NL Central (CIN 7; PIT 4; CHC 3; MIL 2; STL 0).
This is Joey Votto's 3rd ejection of 2020, 1st since August 29 (Dan Bellino; QOC = U [Fighting]).
This is the DJ Reyburn's 2nd ejection of 2020, 1st since Aug 16 (Cameron Maybin; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Cincinnati Reds vs. St. Louis Cardinals, 9/12/20 | Video as follows:

Sunday, August 16, 2020

MLB Ejections 19-20 - Timmons, Reyburn (2, 1; DET)

1B Umpire Tim Timmons ejected Tigers Manager Ron Gardenhire (stadium boundary/base award for ball stuck in wall; QOCY) in the bottom of the 3rd and HP Umpire DJ Reyburn ejected Tigers batter Cameron Maybin in the bottom of the 5th inning of the #Indians-#Tigers game. With two out and one on (R1), Tigers batter Jeimer Candelario hit a 2-2 fastball from Indians pitcher Adam Plutko on a line drive to right field, where the ball bounced stuck to the base of the outfield wall, ruled a stuck ball pursuant to Official Baseball Rule 5.06(b)(4)(F) by Timmons. Replays indicate the ball rolled to the wall and became stationary by the obstruction caused by the padding protruding from the wall and gap left between the base of the padding and dirt warning track, the call was correct.* Play was reviewed and affirmed by the UEFL Appeals Board, the call was correct. At the time of Gardenhire's ejection, the game was tied, 3-3.

In the 5th, with one out and two on (R1, R2), Maybin took a 0-1 slider from Indians pitcher Oliver Perez for a called first strike before grounding into an inning-ending double play. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer edge of home plate and below the hollow of the knee (px 0.88, pz 1.45 [sz_bot 1.68 / RAD 1.56 / MOE 1.48]), the call was incorrect.* At the time of Maybin's ejection, the game was tied, 4-4. The Indians ultimately won the contest, 8-5.

This is Tim Timmons (95)'s second ejection of 2020.
This is DJ Reyburn (17)'s first ejection of 2020.
Tim Timmons now has 8 points in the UEFL Standings (4 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 8).
DJ Reyburn now has -2 points in the UEFL Standings (0 Prev + 2 MLB - 4 Incorrect Call = -2).
Crew Chief Laz Diaz now has 1 point in Crew Division (0 Previous + 1 QOCY + 0 QOCN = 1).
*Rule 5.06(b)(4)(F) states, "Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance—two bases, if a fair ball bounces or is deflected into the stands outside the first or third base foul lines; or if it goes through or under a field fence, or through or under a scoreboard, or through or under shrubbery or vines in the fence; or if it sticks in such fence, scoreboard, shrubbery or vines."
RelatedMLB Ejection 085 - Fieldin Culbreth (3; Bryan Price) (6/29/17).
RelatedCause You're Stuck in the Wall - Batted Ball Out of Play (9/20/16).

These are the 19th and 20th ejection reports of the 2020 MLB regular season.
This is the eighth Manager ejection of 2020.
This is the ninth player ejection of 2020. Prior to ejection, Maybin was 0-1 in the contest.
This is Detroit's 1/2nd ejection of 2020, 1st in the AL Central (DET 2; CLE, CWS, KC, MIN 0).
This is Ron Gardenhire's 1st ejection since August 19, 2019 (Alfonso Marquez; QOC = U [NEC]).
This is Tim Timmons' 2nd ejection of 2020, 1st since Aug 12 (Willson Contreras; QOC = Y [Check Swing]).

Wrap: Cleveland Indians vs. Detroit Tigers, 8/16/20 | Video as follows:

Thursday, July 25, 2019

MLB Ejection 135 - DJ Reyburn (2; Brock Holt)

HP Umpire DJ Reyburn ejected Red Sox 2B Brock Holt (strike three call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 3rd inning of the Yankees-Red Sox game. With none out and none on, Holt took a 0-2 splitter from Yankees pitcher Masahiro Tanaka for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer half of home plate and at the knee (px -0.58, pz 1.52 [sz_bot 1.54 / RAD 1.42]), and that all other pitches during the at-bat were properly officiated, the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Red Sox were leading, 7-2. The Red Sox ultimately won the contest, 19-3.

This is DJ Reyburn (17)'s second ejection of 2019.
DJ Reyburn now has 5 points in the UEFL Standings (1 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 5).
Crew Chief Fieldin Culbreth now has 6 points in Crew Division (5 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 6).
*This pitch was located 2.23 vertical inches from being deemed an incorrect call.

This is the 135th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 60th player ejection of 2019. Prior to ejection, Holt was 1-2 (SO) in the contest.
This is Boston's 3rd ejection of 2019, T-3rd in the AL East (BAL, TOR 4; BOS, NYY 3; TB 1).
This is Brock Holt's 1st ejection since May 15, 2016 (Joe West; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is DJ Reyburn's 2nd ejection of 2019, 1st since May 13 (Bob Melvin; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: New York Yankees vs. Boston Red Sox, 7/25/19 | Video as follows:

Tuesday, May 14, 2019

SEA Replay - Cubby's Pitching Motion Rules Check

In the wake of MLB's Carter Capps delivery rule, Chief Fieldin Culbreth's crew initiated a Replay Review Monday in Seattle regarding Mariners relief pitcher Cory Gearrin's motion in the 7th inning, supporting HP Umpire DJ Reyburn's initial assertion of an illegal pitching move as a result of a double-step during Gearrin's motion home.

What was the rule being discussed and was Reyburn's instinct correct?

Gearrin's Illegal Move: During warmups after entering Monday's A's-Mariners game, the right-handed Gearrin demonstrated his usual pitching motion: With his right foot (pivot foot) in contact with the pitcher's plate, Gearrin raised his left leg (free foot) before returning his free foot to the ground, slightly lifting this foot and moving it forward before planting further down the mound, and finally releasing the ball toward home plate.

The second step toward home is illegal.
Rule & Analysis: This is an illegal motion because of Official Baseball Rule 5.07(a) Comment's provision that "The pitcher may not take a second step toward home plate with either foot or otherwise reset his pivot foot in his delivery of the pitch. If there is a runner, or runners, on base it is a balk under Rule 6.02(a); if the bases are unoccupied it is an illegal pitch under Rule 6.02(b)." This rule applies for all pitching deliveries, regardless of whether the pitcher has opted to use Windup Position or to use Set Position.

The rule outlawing a second step toward home plate was added prior to the 2017 season in response to former big league pitcher Carter Capps' unique crow-hop delivery in which he reset his pivot in delivery of the pitch.
Related PostCarter Capps Throws Illegal Pitch, Ejected After Hitting Ump (6/26/17).
Scott Servais disputes the crew's call.

For what it's worth, 6.02(a) simply states that such an illegal pitch is a balk with runners on base, while 6.02(b) states that the penalty for an illegal pitch with the bases unoccupied shall be a ball added to the count.

Preventative Officiating: Thus, Reyburn's instinct was correct—Gearrin's two-step maneuver is illegal and is more severe than a simple "don't do that" instruction; had Gearrin double-tapped his free foot during gameplay, it would have been an illegal pitch.

DJ Reyburn signals for a Replay Review.
Replay Review: After Reyburn informed Gearrin that his motion was illegal, protestation from Seattle brought the umpiring crew of Reyburn, Culbreth, Paul Nauert, and CB Bucknor together, which, after discussion with Mariners Manager Scott Servais, opted to initiate a Crew Chief Review for a rules check relative to OBR 5.07(a) and 6.02(b).

Six minutes? I'm with Dee Gordon (at 3:29).
After a two-and-a-half minute review, New York returned a verdict that confirmed Reyburn's suspicion, and Gearrin subsequently altered his pitching motion such that his free foot remained off the ground until reaching its final landing place, thus satisfying Rule 5.07(a) Comment's requirement that the pitcher not "take a second step toward home plate with either foot."

Total Delay & Pace of Play: The entire process took about six minutes from Reyburn's initial conversation with Gearrin until the resumption of play.

The game then proceeded and concluded without further incident (until Reyburn ejected Athletics Manager Bob Melvin an inning later following a ball four call and game-tying home run).
Related PostMLB Ejection 054 - DJ Reyburn (1; Bob Melvin) (5/13/19).

Video as follows:

Monday, May 13, 2019

MLB Ejection 054 - DJ Reyburn (1; Bob Melvin)

HP Umpire DJ Reyburn ejected Oakland Athletics Manager Bob Melvin (ball four call; QOCN) in the bottom of the 8th inning of the A's-Mariners game. With one out and one on (R2), Mariners batter Edwin Encarnacion took a 3-2 cutter from A's pitcher Lou Trivino for a called fourth ball before a subsequent home run tied the game. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the heart of home plate and at the knee (px 0.13, pz 1.62 [sz_bot 1.57 / MOE 1.653]), the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 4-4. The Mariners ultimately won the contest, 6-5, in 10 innings.

This is DJ Reyburn (17)'s first ejection of 2019.
DJ Reyburn now has -3 points in the UEFL Standings (-1 Prev + 2 MLB - 4 Incorrect Call = -3).
Crew Chief Fieldin Culbreth now has 1 point in Crew Division (1 Previous + 0 Incorrect Call = 1).
*MLB uses placeholder values for the vertical strike zone (sz_bot/sz_top) for each batter. These numbers are replaced by observed values after the game, generally in overnight processing. Although sz_bot was not immediately available after the game, UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1's "unless evidence overwhelmingly suggests otherwise" provision has been invoked to adjudicate this call; replays clearly indicate the pitch had requisite height to capture the vertical strike zone.

This is the 54th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 25th Manager ejection of 2019.
This is Oakland's 1st ejection of 2019, 3rd in the AL West (LAA, HOU 2; OAK 1; SEA, TEX 0).
This is Bob Melvin's first ejection since September 15, 2018 (Larry Vanover; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is DJ Reyburn's first ejection since Sept 20, 2018 (Bryce Harper; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Oakland Athletics vs. Seattle Mariners, 5/13/19 | Video as follows:

Thursday, September 20, 2018

MLB Ejections 169-170 - DJ Reyburn (2-3; Callaway, Harper)

HP Umpire DJ Reyburn ejected Mets Manager Mickey Callaway (check swing bunt strike two call; QOCY) in the top of the 10th and Nationals RF Bryce Harper (strike three call; QOCN) in the bottom of the 12th inning of the Mets-Nationals game. In the 10th, with none out and one on, Mets batter Jeff McNeil attempted to not bunt at a 1-1 fastball from Nationals pitcher Greg Holland. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer half of home plate and at the hollow of the knee (px -.698, pz 1.432 [sz_bot 1.565 / RAD 1.442 / MOE 1.359]) and that all other pitches during the at-bat were properly officiated, the call was correct.* At the time of Callaway's ejection, the game was tied, 1-1.

In the 12th, with one out and none on, Harper took a 1-2 fastball from Mets pitcher Paul Sewald for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located off the inner edge of home plate and above the knees (px 0.925, pz 1.864 [sz_bot 1.601]), the call was incorrect.^ At the time of Harper's ejection, the Mets were leading, 5-4. The Mets ultimately won the contest, 5-4.

These are DJ Reyburn (17)'s second and third ejections of 2018.
DJ Reyburn now has 10 points in the UEFL Standings (8 Prev + 2*[2 MLB] + 2 QOCY - 4 QOCN = 10).
Crew Chief Sam Holbrook now has -1 points in Crew Division (-2 Previous + 1 QOCY + 0 QOCN = -1).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-6-a states, "Any displayed reasoning for such a call, including a communicated application or interpretation of a rule, shall not affect the determination of Quality of Correctness. Quality of Correctness is governed by the (in)correctness of the call made, not by the quality of reasoning given for such a call." The call here is "strike"; the reasoning is swing vs pitch location.
The 1-1 pitch to McNeil was located 0.876 vertical inches from referral to the UEFL Appeals Board.
^UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.

This is the 169th, 170th ejection report of the 2018 MLB regular season.
This is the 70th Manager ejection of 2018.
This is the 80th player ejection of 2018. Prior to ejection, Harper was 1-5 (SO) in the contest.
This is New York-NL's 7th ejection of 2018, 2nd in the NL East (WAS 10; NYM 7; ATL 6; MIA 5; PHI 0).
This is Washington's 10th ejection of 2018, 1st in the NL East (WAS 10; NYM 7; ATL 6; MIA 5; PHI 0).
This is Mickey Callaway's 2nd ejection of 2018, 1st since June 12 (Stu Scheurwater; QOC = Y [HBP]).
This is Bryce Harper's first ejection since July 26, 2017 (Chris Segal; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is DJ Reyburn's 2/3rd ejection of 2018, 1st since May 14 (Robbie Grossman; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: New York Mets vs. Washington Nationals, 9/20/18 | Video as follows:

Monday, May 14, 2018

MLB Ejection 037 - DJ Reyburn (1; Robbie Grossman)

HP Umpire DJ Reyburn ejected Twins LF Robbie Grossman (strike three call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 5th inning of the Mariners-Twins game. With one out and one on (R1), Grossman took a 0-0 cutter from Mariners pitcher Wade LeBlanc for a called first strike, 1-1 changeup for a called second strike, and 2-2 cutter for a called third strike. Replays indicate the 0-0 pitch was located over the inner edge of home plate and thigh-high (px -.802, pz 2.272), the 1-1 pitch was located over the heart of home plate and thigh-high (px .094, pz 2.729), and the 2-2 pitch was located the heart of home plate and below the midpoint (px 0.019, pz 3.172 [sz_top 3.371]), the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 0-0. The Mariners ultimately won the contest, 1-0.

This is DJ Reyburn (17)'s first ejection of the 2018 MLB regular season.
DJ Reyburn now has 5 points in the UEFL Standings (1 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 5).
Crew Chief Angel Hernandez now has 2 points in Crew Division (1 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 2).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
The 0-0 pitch was located 1.344 horizontal inches from being deemed outside of the strike zone.
The 2-2 pitch was located 3.384 vertical inches from being deemed an incorrect call.

This is the 37th ejection of the 2018 MLB regular season.
This is the 19th player ejection of 2018. Prior to ejection, Grossman was 0-2 (SO) in the contest.
This is Minnesota's 1st ejection of 2018, T-2nd in the AL Central (DET 2; CLE, CWS, MIN 1; KC 0).
This is Robbie Grossman's first career MLB ejection.
This is DJ Reyburn's first ejection since July 30, 2017 (AJ Pollock; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Seattle Mariners vs. Minnesota Twins, 5/14/18 | Video as follows: