Showing posts with label Jeff Kellogg. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Jeff Kellogg. Show all posts

Monday, February 24, 2020

MLB Crew Chiefs Mike Everitt, Jeff Kellogg Retire

Longtime MLB crew chiefs Mike Everitt and Jeff Kellogg retired from on-field service prior to Spring Training, creating two additional vacancies on the umpire staff.

Everitt steps off the field after 24 American and Major League seasons at the age of 55 after a recent bout of injuries, most recently during the Wild Card round of the 2019 postseason.

In 2018, the UEFL invoked an injury replacement rule after Everitt sustained a concussion on Opening Day; after attempting a return to baseball from April 25 - May 2, Everitt took the rest of the season off; he subsequently suffered a head injury on July 7, 2019.
Related PostUEFL Invokes Injury Replacement Rule for Everitt (6/5/18).

Everitt's career featured three Wild Card games, nine Division Series, seven League Championship Series, and three World Series, in addition to the 2006 All-Star Game. He ejected 81 players, coaches, and managers over his 2,633 regular season games officiated.

Kellogg, who is the brother in law of Tim and Bill Welke, similarly suffered from the injury bug in recent years, officiating 87 regular season contests in 2018 and 54 in 2019; a flying bat in September 2017 cost him the rest of the 2017 season (including playoffs).

Having graduated with a Ferris State University degree in Criminal Justice, Kellogg famously tackled a fan-turned-field intruder around the home plate area in Baltimore back in 2012.
Related PostUmpire Jeff Kellogg Tackles Fan in Baltimore Field Intrusion (4/28/12).

The 58-year-old Coldwater, Michigan native's on-field NL and MLB career spanned 29 years and 3,275 regular season games to go alongside the 2012 Wild Card Game, nine Division Series, six League Championship Series, five World Series, and two All-Star Games.

It has been reported that the two veteran umpires will take jobs in the league office's umpiring department. The retirement news brings total Crew Chief vacancies to four this 2019-2020 offseason. Congratulations, Mike and Jeff!

We'll have an article on MLB's umpire new-hires in the coming days.

Thursday, May 16, 2019

Crew Chief - Twice Changed Bunt HBP & Rule 8.03(c)

Umpires twice changed a call on a bunt attempt during a Padres-Rockies game as HP Umpire Brian O'Nora's original dead ball strike ruling that Rockies batter Garrett Hampson offered at a pitch that hit him was affirmed by Crew Chief Jeff Kellogg after an initial reversal to a HBP award in a rare application of Rule 8.03(c) and powers granted to the Crew Chief.

Kellogg and O'Nora explain the call to Black.
The Play: With none out and two on (R1, R3), Rockies batter Garrett Hampson squared to bunt a first-pitch fastball from Padres pitcher Eric Lauer. As the pitch rode in on Hampson, the batter made a late decision to move the bat back toward his body as the ball struck his right hand, ruled a dead ball strike by HP Umpire O'Nora.

The First Reversal: After objection from Rockies Manager Bud Black that Hampson had pulled the bat back, O'Nora consulted with 1B Umpire James Hoye, and changed his call, awarding Hampson first base as a result of the ruling that Hampson did not attempt to strike the pitch that hit him.

The Double Negative: This brought Padres Manager Andy Green out of his dugout, this time bringing all four umpires together, upon which Crew Chief Kellogg signaled that O'Nora's initial call of "dead ball strike" shall prevail.

Did Hampson offer at a pitch that hit him?
Analysis, Reversing a Call: In general, no one umpire shall unilaterally overrule another. In practice, this means that if umpires confer about a call made by one particular umpire, then, upon leaving that conference, the calling umpire will generally be the one to signal the reversed call (if indeed the call is reversed).

The relevant rule is 8.02(c): "If a decision is appealed, the umpire making the decision may ask another umpire for information before making a final decision. No umpire shall criticize, seek to reverse or interfere with another umpire’s decision unless asked to do so by the umpire making it." There are limited exceptions to the initiation of a conference, but at the end of it all, the procedure is such that the calling umpire will affirm or reverse his/her own call.

O'Nora speaks with Green after change #1.
Check swings are similar in the sense that a plate umpire who initially calls "ball" can ask the 1B/3B Umpire for assistance. If the corner umpire changes the call to "strike," notice that the plate umpire then will signal "strike."

Analysis, Half Swing Bunt Appeal: We've discussed the unique circumstance of a batter who is struck by a pitch or who fouls a ball off during a bunt attempt. In April 2019, Don Mattingly complained about a crew's HBP decision on such a play, Jim Joyce discussed such an event from his Plate Meeting Podcast, and in August 2018, we wrote an article entirely dedicated to adjudicating whether a batter has attempted to bunt the ball. So that rule is well covered.
Related PostMattingly Rips Umpires After Loss in Miami (4/2/19).
Related PostPodcast - Episode 12 - The Jim Joyce Jubilee (4/2/19).
Related PostAsk UEFL - Foul Bunt or Ball Fouled Away? (8/29/18).

What is absolutely key here is O'Nora's initial ruling that Hampson struck at the ball. Pursuant to OBR 8.02(c) Comment, "The manager or the catcher may request the plate umpire to ask his partner for help on a half swing when the plate umpire calls the pitch a ball, but not when the pitch is called a strike."

Kellogg made sure to apply proper procedure.
As such, O'Nora consulting Hoye for assistance on the matter of whether the batter struck at the ball may be deemed procedurally improper. Cue Green's protest (and failure to follow procedure could be a valid basis for protest) and Kellogg's intervention.

The difference between the Joyce/Hoye play and the Kellogg/O'Nora play is twofold: First, Hoye in Pittsburgh did not definitively signal that the batter struck at the pitch. He called "Time" but made no further signal (O'Nora did definitively signal that the batter struck at the pitch). Second, Joyce/Hoye concerned a foul ball while Kellogg/O'Nora concerned a hit-by-pitch.

Black pointed to U1's strike/attempt call.
Analysis, Reversing a Reversal: The Hampson bunt play is an example of a Crew Chief taking control of an unusual situation. In this case, we have a plate umpire who has called a dead ball strike, ruling that the batter struck at a pitch that touched his hand. Yet we also have a first base umpire who ruled that the batter did not strike at the pitch, thus changing the situation to a hit-by-pitch entitling the batter to first base.

These are conflicting calls by different umpires on a situation not subject to a check swing appeal.

After consultation amongst the entire four-umpire crew, Chief Kellogg thus exited the huddle with a final proclamation, invoking the proper procedure for deciding what to do when two umpires make two different calls on the same play, which is not subject to the allowed half swing appeal exemption, and which is delineated by Rule 8.03(c):
If different decisions should be made on one play by different umpires, the umpire-in-chief shall call all the umpires into consultation, with no manager or player present. After consultation, the umpire-in-chief (unless another umpire may have been designated by the League President) shall determine which decision shall prevail, based on which umpire was in best position and which decision was most likely correct. Play shall proceed as if only the final decision had been made.
Per 8.03(c), CC makes the final call.
SIDEBAR: 8.03(c) is also where the mechanic of having the Crew Chief communicate the Replay Review decision comes into play. In essence, the Crew Chief "determines" that the Replay Official's decision "shall prevail."

The effective difference, again, is that Hoye in Pittsburgh simply signaled the ball becoming dead without a determination as to whether the batter struck at the pitch, before consulting the entire crew to finalize the ruling, while O'Nora in Colorado signaled a strike and spoke with the one member of the crew specifically about whether the batter had struck at the pitch before changing his call from "swinging dead ball strike [missed bunt]" to "HBP [no swing]," upon which the entire crew convened, again, to finalize the ruling.

The other difference, naturally, is that Hoye in Pittsburgh met with his entire four-umpire crew once, whereas O'Nora had two meetings—once with only U1 and a second with the entire crew.

At this time, it was apparent that the two umpires had made conflicting rulings on a play not eligible for a half-swing appeal, necessitating a Crew Chief's prevailing judgment pursuant to 8.03(c), with regard for the half-swing appeal procedure delineated by Rule 8.02(c) Comment.

Video as follows:

Sunday, April 7, 2019

MLB Ejections 009-013 - Jeff Kellogg (1-5; Puig CIN & PIT)

HP Umpire Jeff Kellogg ejected Reds Manager David Bell (arguing warnings), RF Yasiel Puig and pitcher Amir Garrett (fighting); and Pirates P Keone Kela and P Felipe Vasquez (fighting) in the top of the 4th inning of the Reds-Pirates game. With none out and one on (R1) in the top of the 2nd inning, Reds batter Derek Dietrich hit a home run. His next time at-bat, with none out and none on in the top of the 4th, Dietrich took a first-pitch fastball from Pirates pitcher Chris Archer for a called ball. Replays indicate Dietrich appeared to "admire" his home run in the second inning and that the 0-0 pitch to Dietrich in the fourth inning was thrown behind Dietrich's back and hip-high, resulting in warnings, the call was irrecusable. At the time of the ejections, the Reds were leading, 3-2. The Pirates ultimately won the contest, 7-5.

These are Jeff Kellogg (8)'s first through fifth ejections of the 2019 MLB regular season.
Jeff Kellogg now has 9 points in the UEFL Standings (-1 Prev + 5*[2 MLB + 0 Irrecusable] = 10).
Crew Chief Jeff Kellogg now has 7 points in Crew Division (2 Previous + 5 Irrecusable Calls = 7).

These are the ninth, 10th, 11th, 12th, and 13th ejection reports of the 2019 MLB regular season.
These are the sixth, seventh, eighth, and ninth player ejections of 2019.
This is the third Manager ejection of 2019.
Prior to ejection, Puig was 0-2 in the contest and none of the other players had participated.
This is Cincinnati's 2/3/4th ejection of 2019, 1st in the NL Central (CIN 4; PIT 2; MIL, STL 1; CHC 0).
This is Pittsburgh's 1/2nd ejection of 2019, 2nd in the NL Central (CIN 4; PIT 2; MIL, STL 1; CHC 0).
This is Yasiel Puig's first ejection since August 14, 2018 (Eric Cooper; QOC = U [Fighting]).
This is Amir Garrett's first career MLB ejection.
This is David Bell's first ejection since September 26, 2016 (Tim Tschida; QOC = U [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Keon Kela's first career MLB ejection.
This is Felipe Vasquez's first career MLB ejection.
This is Jeff Kellogg's first ejection since June 16, 2017 (Joe Maddon; QOC = Y-C [Replay Review]).

Wrap: Cincinnati Reds vs. Pittsburgh Pirates, 4/7/19 | Video as follows:

Tuesday, March 12, 2019

Vigilant Kellogg Eyes a Spring Hidden Ball Trick

Official Baseball Rule 8.00 concludes with General Instructions to Umpires, including guidelines for where an umpire should and should not go, what an umpire should and shouldn't do, and a review of the umpire's primary responsibility: to be in position to see every play.

A hidden ball trick in the Spring.
Sure, a byproduct of following umpiring's #1 golden rule is to get the call right, but even the rulebook itself acknowledges that baseball is a game officiated by humans: "Most important rule for umpires is always 'BE IN POSITION TO SEE EVERY PLAY'" - in all-caps, just like that. Again, the most important rule is not to get the call right, but to be in position to officiate.

The General Instructions also bring us to a Spring Training hidden ball trick, where 1B Umpire Jeff Kellogg teaches us that it's never too early to see something unusual. The hidden ball trick is, well, not exactly a trick, but a hope that the offensive team loses track of where the ball is, all while the ball remains alive and in play.

We've discussed restrictions about the hidden ball trick before (namely Rule 6.02(a)(9)'s prohibition that the pitcher cannot "stand on or astride the pitcher's plate" without the ball - in 2017, MiLB Umpire Ryan Wilhelms ejected Buies Creek Manager Omar Lopez over such an "on or astride" debate), but Kellogg's is rather simple, and touches on another key aspect of the General Instructions: "Keep your eye everlastingly on the ball while it is in play."
Related PostMiLB - Wilhelms Ejects Lopez on Hidden Ball Trick Play (5/4/17).

Angel Hernandez calls Juan Uribe out.
SIDEBAR: This play is similar to the August 10, 2013 play wherein Rays infielder Evan Longoria took custody of a baseball after a sacrifice fly and, while the ball remained live, walked behind third base where Dodgers runner Juan Uribe casually chatted with 3B Coach Tim Wallach. As soon as Uribe took his foot off the base, Longoria tagged him with the ball and 3B Umpire Angel Hernandez, having kept his eye everlastingly on the ball, called Uribe out. The play even fooled the FOX Sports broadcaster Eric Karros, who initially posited the crew had made a "bad call" on a leaving-early appeal, before returning from commercial break and complimenting Hernandez for his "great job" in calling Uribe out.
Related Video: Juan Uribe falls victim to trick as 3B Umpire Angel Hernandez stays alert (8/10/13).

Kellogg's Spring Play: After receiving a pickoff throw, first baseman Miguel Cabrera fakes a throw back to the pitcher while baserunner R1 Ehire Adrianza rises to dust himself off, having slid safely back into first base on the initial throw. As soon as Adrianza steps off the base, Cabrera applies the tag, Kellogg - who has been watching the entire time, as he should - calls the runner out, and the hidden ball illusion is complete.

Video as follows:

Wednesday, November 14, 2018

Samurai Japan Wins on Key Obstruction No-Call

A critical obstruction no-call by 1B Umpire Jeff Kellogg capped Samurai Japan's 6-5 win over the MLB All-Stars in Game 5 of the international series as contact between first baseman Hotaka Yamakawa and batter-runner Mitch Haniger during an overthrow preceded Haniger's game-ending retirement at second base.

BR Haniger pushes F3 Yamakawa away.
The Play: With one out and one on (R1), Haniger hit a ground ball to Samurai Japan shortstop Sosuke Genda, who threw to second baseman Tetsuto Yamada, forcing out baserunner R1 Kevin Pillar, whose throw to first base was wide. As first baseman Yamakawa attempted to pursue the thrown ball, he and batter-runner Haniger made contact as Haniger attempted to advance to second base on the overthrow. Shortly thereafter, catcher Takuya Kai retrieved the loose ball and threw to second baseman Yamada, who tagged Haniger as he slid into second base for the game's final out, courtesy of 2B Umpire Hideto Fuke's call.

The Call: 1B Umpire Kellogg indicated that no obstruction or other illegal act had occurred by displaying a "safe" mechanic, explaining to MLB All-Stars Manager Don Mattingly that no rules infraction occurred up the right field line.

Kellogg explains his ruling to Don Mattingly.
Rule & Analysis: Obstruction is a rather straightforward concept ("the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner"), but it can get complicated during translation from the rulebook to application on the playing field. By now, we know that contact is not a requirement for obstruction, and that, under the auspices of Type 2/B obstruction (no play actively being made on an obstructed runner [BR had passed first base]), a fielder who has "made an attempt to field a ball and missed...can no longer be in the 'act of fielding' the ball" (Rule 6.01(h) Comment).

Thus the only consideration is whether the first baseman's actions—beginning the instant that he "missed" his attempt to field the ball—impeded the progress of the runner. There is no such incidental "Ambrister tangle/untangle" exception for a first baseman...once he has missed the ball, any hindrance is illegal. And, because it must be said, the batter-runner is perfectly legal running where he is (no tag attempt = no out of base path consideration, but even so, the batter-runner may run through first base and decide to try for second at any point up the right field line...obviously, this would put him at liability of being tagged out and void the overrun protection, but as far as his position is concerned, he's 100% legal).
Related PostINT or OBS - Hammering the Catcher Contact Home (8/6/18).

I believe this is an instance of obstruction.
Gil's Call: In my estimation, the fielder impeded the batter-runner's progress and, accordingly, I have obstruction (type 2/B). On the accompanying video at the end of this article, watch the broadcast angle from the press box camera. At about the six-second mark, Haniger runs into the back of Yamakawa, after the overthrown ball has already exited the frame. As the piggybacking continues up the line, Haniger trips over Yamakawa's legs and stumbles as he attempts to advance toward second base. From the left-center field camera angle, it even appears Haniger briefly slows up as he braces for impact with Yamakawa. It is my opinion that this slow & stumble hindered the runner enough to cause him to be put out at second; had the impeding act not occurred, I believe the runner would have achieved second base safely and, for that reason, my award would have been to place Haniger at second base so as to nullify the act of obstruction (type 2/B).
Bonus: Add a nickel to the "broadcaster confused obstruction and interference" jar.

Jim Joyce's call is the gold standard for OBS.
Precedent: During the 2013 World Series, 3B Umpire Jim Joyce and HP Umpire Dana DeMuth combined for a properly officiated game-ending obstruction call after Red Sox 3B Will Middlebrooks accidentally tripped up (e.g., "impeded") Cardinals baserunner Allen Craig, who in turn was thrown out at home plate, until the umpires imposed the obstruction type B penalty to "nullify the act" and award Craig home plate for the game-winning run.

Middlebrooks at the time stated his dissatisfaction with the call, explaining he had nowhere to go after diving to field the poor throw (e.g., after having "made an attempt to field a ball and missed"). By rule, no matter what Middlebrooks did at that point, if he impeded the runner's progress, he was guilty of obstruction. For better or worse, the rulebook expects the fielder disappear after he has failed in his attempt to field the ball; the defense is not to be rewarded for a miscue. There is zero leeway given to the fielder in this "made an attempt to field a ball and missed" situation (other than, obviously, not rewarding a runner who goes out of his way to manufacture an obstruction call).
Related PostReviewing Jim Joyce's Game-Ending Obstruction Call (10/26/13).

Tying it Together: Like Middlebrooks, Yamakawa did not vacate the runner's path quickly enough after failing to field the ball, and, as a result, he inadvertently impeded the progress of the runner. Even though the impedance was inadvertent and accidental, it was not incidental, which means that, pursuant to OBR 6.01(h)(2), it was an illegal act.

This play was no-called during the 2017 WBC.
Related Play and Teachable Moment: We saw a similar—yet much more blatant—play during the 2017 World Baseball Classic at Gocheok Sky Dome when Team Netherlands first baseman Yurdell Decaster similarly failed to field an overthrown ball from second base. After the ball got by Decaster, Team Israel batter-runner Scott Burcham attempted to advance to second base and, according to replays, was physically wrapped up and momentarily restrained from advancing. 1B Umpire Chikara Tsugawa (who is presently in the States for the Arizona Fall League as part of an apparent MLB-NPB exchange program) no-called the Decaster-Burcham interaction, and Burcham was thrown out at second base on a close play.

1B Umpire did not see the obstruction play.
In his Teachable, tmac quickly explained that 1B Umpire Tsugawa simply did not see the play because he was following the ball toward the wall along the first base dugout. Tmac also explained that in this situation, with only one runner to worry about (the batter-runner), the HP Umpire has the responsibility for adjudicating boundary issues involving the overthrown ball; the first base umpire's focus should be on the potential obstruction/interference/nothing issue between the batter-runner and the first baseman.

Back to Tokyo Dome: Unlike the 2017 WBC play, where our umpire made no signal, making it clear that the umpire did not see the play, on Wednesday in Tokyo, 1B Umpire Kellogg demonstrated the safe mechanic, which is the universal "that's nothing" sign.

Video as follows:

Saturday, November 10, 2018

2018 MLB Japan All-Star Series Umpire Roster

Major League umpires Eric Cooper, Jeff Kellogg, and Quinn Wolcott are in Tokyo for the 2018 MLB Japan All-Star Series, joining several NPB umpires for the exhibition series. Meanwhile, the umpire mask camera that we saw in use during the 2014 series is back. For instance, here is a Juan Soto home run from said ump cam.

In 2014, Chris Conroy, Jerry Layne, and Mike Winters traveled to Japan for the best-of-five series between the MLB All-Stars and Samurai Japan (Japan's national team), plus one exhibition game between the MLB squad and a combination squad comprised of teams from Hanshin and Yomiuri. This year, the pre-series exhibition game featured MLB's team against the Yomiuri Giants.
Related PostRoster: 2014 MLB Japan All-Star Series (11/11/14).

MLB Umpires
> Eric Cooper.
> Jeff Kellogg.
> Quinn Wolcott.

Nippon Professional Baseball Umpires
> Atsushi Fukaya.
> Shinichiro Hara.
> Takayuki Ichikawa.
> Kenjiro Mori.
> Kazuaki Nakoh.
> Naoto Shikita.

While MLB sent Cooper, Kellogg, and Wolcott to Japan, NPB sent umpires Shinji Hashimoto and Chikara Tsugawa to the Arizona Fall League, where they have been working with AFL umpires for the past few weeks.
Related PostArizona Fall League Welcomes NPB (Japan) Umpires (11/2/18).

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Forgetful Infield Fly - Reversing Calls Across Levels

Umpires reversed an erroneous force out call during an infield fly rule play in Grapefruit League action, scoring a run that had seemingly been nullified just moments earlier. By now, we know what the infield fly rule is and how to communicate when a potential IFR situation occurs, but what happens if an umpire or entire crew forgets to call "infield fly" when it occurs? Is the batter still out or are runners forced to advance—and what happens if a fielder attempts to force out a baserunner or a time play occurs at home, as was the case in Florida?

Recap: To briefly review the infield fly rule's three criteria: 1) First and second (at least) occupied with less than two out; 2) batter hits a fair fly ball that is not a line drive nor a bunt, that; 3) can be caught by any infielder using ordinary effort. For more about the infield fly rule, including its definition, ordinary effort, and pre-play communication, see the following two articles:
Related Post: Infield Fly and a Double Play - Back to Basics for Phillies (4/11/16).
Related PostKnowing the Situation - Infield Flies and Time Plays (9/15/17).

Mechanics confusion reigned in Florida.
So now that we know what should happen during an infield fly play, it's time to explore what happens when things go awry, including rules differences amongst the NFHS, NCAA, and OBR codes.

Perhaps true to the Spring Training moniker, umpire Jeff Kellogg's crew encountered an infield fly situation over the weekend that took an odd turn when the plate umpire forewent an infield fly signal as a fly ball dropped untouched on the infield with the bases loaded.

The Play (Annotated with the infield fly criteria): With one out and the bases loaded, Twins batter Byron Buxton swung and hit a fair fly ball in front of home plate, where Red Sox catcher Blake Swihart, in what should have been a routine catch, bobbled and dropped the batted ball. Pitcher Rick Porcello picked up the loose ball, tagged home plate, and thew to second baseman Brock Holt, who tagged Twins baserunner R2 Bobby Wilson between second and third base.

Sidebar, in case you were wondering: the infield fly rule takes precedence over the intentional drop rule; this is due, in part, to the fact that an infield fly is declared before the ball reaches the fielder [i.e., before the fielder has a chance to intentionally drop it].
Related Post: Phillips' DP Attempt Reversed by Intentional Drop Rule (9/19/17).

The Call: Confounding the issue, while 2B Umpire Tim Timmons properly signaled the infield fly (batter out), plate umpire Kellogg signaled baserunner R3 out upon F1 Porcello's tag of home plate; no call was immediately made when F4 Holt tagged R2 Wilson (who appeared to have given up as a result of observing both B1 and R3 being declared out for outs #2 and #3), as Timmons' back was to the tag.

This produced a logically impossible double play: Once the batter (or any trailing baserunner) is declared out, the force on any preceding baserunner is removed; R3 should not have been declared out via force at home.

2B Umpire Tim Timmons calls Buxton out.
The End Result: After discussion amongst the three umpires, batter Buxton was declared out pursuant to the infield fly rule, R3 Aybar's out was reversed to a run scored, and R2 Wilson was declared out because of F4 Holt's tag. The problem, naturally, lies in the erroneous out call on the fake force/tag at home, upon which Aybar ceased to exist as a baserunner (and took away the potential for a time play, as would normally occur with a runner trotting home from third base with two outs, as was the case when Wilson was tagged for the final out of the inning, though U2 didn't call the out when it occurred because he wasn't facing the play [and because three outs had already transpired, however erroneous the third out was]). Did Kellogg's force-out mechanic cause Boston to give up on R3 Aybar? (Logically, it has to be yes, since R3 had already been "retired.")

Not as clear, however, is its effect on R1 Zack Granite (who advanced to second) and R2 Wilson (who abandoned ship after the phantom "third out" at home plate). By rule, Kellogg's force out call caused Aybar to disappear, meaning the umpires had to correct an error. The relevant rule under OBR to correct the mistake is 8.02(c), which states, in part:
If the umpires consult after a play and change a call that had been made, then they have the authority to take all steps that they may deem necessary, in their discretion, to eliminate the results and consequences of the earlier call that they are reversing, including placing runners where they think those runners would have been after the play, had the ultimate call been made as the initial call, disregarding interference or obstruction that may have occurred on the play; failures of runners to tag up based upon the initial call on the field; runners passing other runners or missing bases; etc., all in the discretion of the umpires.
Kellogg spots the error and convenes his crew.
To be crystal clear, the "call that they are reversing" in this situation was Kellogg's force out call of Aybar at home plate; no other call was reversed. Timmons' earlier infield fly call was not modified in any way.

If the crew believed that, had Kellogg made the correct call in real-time (which would have been a no-call on R3 at home), Aybar would have scored, then the solution to "eliminate the results and consequences of the earlier call that they are reversing" is to score the run, whether or not Aybar physically touched home plate prior to F4 Holt's tag of R2 Wilson (since, again, Aybar technically did not exist as R3 after the phantom force, and F4 Holt's tag of R2 Wilson was superfluous [and a fourth out in its own right]).

Gil's Call: There are probably three realistic options for this play, all of which involve declaring the batter out pursuant to the infield fly rule, as declared by Timmons in real-time.

The first option is what Kellogg's crew decided to do: B1 out, R3 scores, R2 out. The second is the same as the first, except that R3's run does not count. The third essentially "kills" the play at the moment of error: B1 out, R1 to 1st, R2 to 2nd, and R3 to 3rd (this approach is rather similar to an NCAA procedure for changing "no catch" to "catch" [see below]).

However, because of Rule 8.02(c)'s requirement to place runners "where [the umpires] think those runners would have been after the play, had the ultimate call been made as the initial call," options #1 or #2 are likely most reasonable. There stands a good chance that R1 Granite would have attempted to advance to second base even without Kellogg's call at home, meaning that R2 Wilson would have been hung out to dry regardless of the incorrect initial call. Which solution is "more correct?" That's for the umpires on the field to decide, likely taking into consideration Aybar's speed for a mental time play calculation.

> QOC Consideration: Pursuant to precedent established in Dale Scott's 2012 ejection of Padres Manager Bud Black for arguing an inadvertent "time" mechanic-turned triple play, QOC here is likely incorrect.
Related PostEjections: Dale Scott (1) (4/15/12).

Rules Difference: The aforementioned is the pro (OBR) rule, but what of NCAA college or NFHS high school?

NCAA: The college book doesn't directly address the case of a changed infield fly, but does include a section called "Appendix E: Getting the Call Right." Similarly, this portion of the rules book does not specifically address bungled infield fly plays (though it does specifically state what must happen when a call of "catch" is changed to "no catch" [dead ball, batter awarded first, baserunners awarded one base from time-of-pitch] and "no catch" to "catch" [dead ball, batter out, baserunners returned to bases occupied at time-of-pitch], both on balls hit into the outfield or any foul ball [or, if an infield-bound "no catch" call is changed to a "catch," when that decision would result in the third out or no runners are on base]).

In high school, teams must know the situation.
There exists a note within Appendix E which states, "The Crew Chief and crew should be conservative on their placement of base runners," and, additionally, "Some calls cannot be reversed without creating larger problems." Nonetheless, Part D of Appendix E states, "Both NCAA philosophy and umpire integrity – consistent with NCAA rules – dictate that calls are reversed in this situation [when the umpire's initial decision is clearly erroneous]." Judgment calls exempted from reversal include tag plays when the fielder clearly holds on to the ball (e.g., stolen base attempts), force plays (when the ball isn't dropped and the foot not pulled), and pitch location ball/strike calls. The Porcello/Buxton/Aybar play is not, however, a judgment call; it is a rules application issue that should be addressed.

NFHS: The high school case book states that players and teams are responsible for knowing when an infield fly situation exists, even when the umpire erroneously forgets to call "infield fly" or calls it at an inappropriate time ("both teams have the responsibility to know when conditions exist for an infield fly" 10.2.3 Situations F & G). High school explicitly requires a batter erroneously declared out to attempt to reach base safely in order to be awarded the base after the play. By that token, NFHS would likely score Aybar's run based on the crew chief's duty to "rectify any situation in which an umpire's decision that was reversed has placed either team at a disadvantage," since the teams were responsible for knowing the infield fly situation. In the end, perhaps this is a situation in which the umpires legitimately do not know whether Aybar beat the third out (due to, again, the erroneous force play for the premature third out at home plate), in which case, a healthy dose of game management will be most vital.

Video as follows:

Tuesday, February 27, 2018

So it Begins - Mound Visit Charged on Injury Timeout

When Twins pitcher Phil Hughes walked to home plate to check on catcher Mitch Garver, who had just taken a foul ball off his mask early in Monday's Cardinals-Twins game, Minnesota was surprised to learn that HP Umpire Jeff Kellogg had charged them with a mound visit, one of six allowed under baseball's new pace of play rules for 2018.
Related Post2018 Pace of Play Changes Limit Mound Visits, No Clock (2/19/18).

A pitcher conferring with an injured catcher?
Pursuant to MLB's new mound visit limit, any pitcher who leaves the mound to confer with a teammate during an at-bat shall cause his team to incur a charged mound visit. Although the rule provides an exemption for a pitcher who may be injured, there is no reciprocal exemption for another position player who may be hurt, and who is attended to by the pitcher.

Though Hughes stated his visit to Garver strictly pertained to a check on his catcher's wellbeing, rather than a discussion of strategy, he also understood from Kellogg that such a visit fits the pace-of-play bill—at least for now.

Twins Manager Paul Molitor vowed to take up the issue with MLB Chief Baseball Officer Joe Torre in the hopes of carving out a formal exemption that would allow a pitcher to attend to a potentially injured catcher during an at-bat without being charged a mound visit, as already exists for a catcher who might attend to a potentially injured pitcher.

If the rulebook says "catcher," it's only F2.
SIDEBAR: We ran into a somewhat similar problem of pitcher vs. catcher language in the rules book during a June 2014 game at Dodger Stadium, when plate umpire Mike Everitt ruled Dodgers baserunner Dee Gordon out at home plate on a wild pitch that eluded Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina, who threw to pitcher Lance Lynn as Gordon slid into home plate. Though replays clearly indicated that Lynn appeared to block home plate in contravention of then-Rule 7.13, closer examination of the rule indicates that the catcher is the restricted fielder: the rule as written did not apply to the pitcher, and a Replay Review decision upheld Everitt's initial out/no violation call.
Related Post: MLB Instant Replay Review 618: Mike Everitt (04) (6/28/14).

The language issue persists in modern-day rule 6.01(i)(2), which states, "Unless the catcher is in possession of the ball, the catcher cannot block the pathway of the runner as he is attempting to score." The language "or other player covering home plate" applies only to 6.01(i)(1), regarding a runner who may be declared out from deviating "from his direct pathway to the plate in order to initiate contact with the catcher (or other player covering home plate)."

Thus, it would be reasonable to conclude that if the Rules Committee wrote a pace-of-play rule to specifically identify "the pitcher" as opposed to "a fielder," then that rule only applies to "the pitcher"—at least for now.

Molitor hopes an exception will be made, a memo released, or the rule rewritten, to encompass any injury, such as a pitcher attending to an injured catcher or a catcher visiting the mound to allow a downed plate umpire time to recover from a foul ball injury.

Meanwhile, Pirates Manager Clint Hurdle, in the aftermath of his own discussion with Torre, reminded baseball fans regarding the new pace of play rules, "it's not a finished product."

Monday, September 25, 2017

Injury Scout - Jeff Kellogg Struck by Flying Bat

An errant bat flew into the side of plate umpire Jeff Kellogg's head, prompting him to leave Sunday's action.

Flying foul bat slams into Kellogg in Arizona.
With two out and one on in the bottom of the 7th inning of Sunday's Marlins-Diamondbacks game, Diamondbacks batter Ketel Marte popped up a 3-2 changeup from Marlins pitcher Chris O'Grady, losing his grip on the bat, which crashed into the left side of Kellogg's traditional-style facemask.

Though Marte's fly ball resulted in the third out of the inning, Kellogg remained behind the plate through the first batter of the 8th inning before leaving the contest. 1B Umpire James Hoye assumed plate duties with 2B Umpire Tim Timmons and 3B Umpire Tom Woodring remaining on the bases. In addition to becoming the new first base umpire, Timmons also served as acting crew chief for the final two innings of play.

Relevant Injury History: Kellogg left a game in Atlanta on April 23, 2016 due to a foul ball injury to the jaw. On September 8, 2012, Kellogg similarly was struck by a foul ball in Anaheim, deemed "a pretty bad migraine" by the Angels training staff.

Last Game: Sept 24 | Return to Play: 2018 | Time Absent: Rest of Season | Video as follows:

Friday, September 8, 2017

Did Scherzer Quick Pitch Herrera? About Rule 6.02(a)(5)

Did Nationals pitcher Max Scherzer strike out Phillies batter Odubel Herrera on an illegal quick pitch Friday night in Washington? At first glance, video evidence suggests that Scherzer may have benefitted from HP Umpire Jeff Kellogg's failure to enforce baseball's quick pitch rule, but what does the rule really say? And did Herrera himself violate the batter's box rule?

Did Kellogg miss Scherzer's quick pitch?
The Play: With one out and none on in the top of the 5th inning of Friday's Phillies-Nationals game, Nats pitcher Scherzer delivered a 1-2 fastball to Phillies batter Odubel Herrera for a called third strike. Replays indicate Herrera did not appear to be looking at Scherzer as Scherzer pitched from Windup Position.

The Rule: The variety of illegal pitch known as the "quick pitch" appears in two parts of the Official Baseball Rules. The first (OBR 5.07(a)) pertains to legal pitching deliveries and positions. 5.07(a) carries no real weight, however, unless backed up by an actual rule that penalizes illegal pitches.

That's where Rule 6.02(a)(5) Comment factors in: "A quick pitch is an illegal pitch. Umpires will judge a quick pitch as one delivered before the batter is reasonably set in the batter’s box. With runners on base the penalty is a balk; with no runners on base, it is a ball. The quick pitch is dangerous and should not be permitted."

There it is. Lest you think Rule 6.02(a)(5) only applies to balks (6.02(a) is the "it is a balk when" rule), the rule's comment clarifies that there is indeed a penalty for a quick pitch with no runners on: it's a ball. To reiterate, "The quick pitch is dangerous and should not be permitted." A penalty exists whether or not there are runners. Rule 6.02(b) also states that an illegal pitch thrown with the bases empty shall result in a ball added to the count, unless the batter reaches base.

Analysis: Given the rulebook's strong language toward a quick pitch's danger, why then did HP Umpire Kellogg not call Scherzer for a quick pitch? Is there more to the story than meets the eye?

Batter Herrera jumps out of the box.
Reviewing the at-bat, we see that Scherzer is working briskly, "setting the tempo," so to speak. That's pretty good news for fans of baseball's popular "pace-of-play" issue.

Herrera, on the other hand, isn't readying himself in the box in a particularly hurried fashion—at least not timely enough for the faster-paced Scherzer.

In the second video below, notice Herrera's consistency in his leisurely act of getting set. Pitch-to-pitch, Herrera's cadence is fairly similar. Scherzer, on the other hand, acquiesces to Herrera's "slowness" on Pitch #2 of the at-bat, decides to press Herrera and pitches immediately upon Herrera coming set in the batter's box on Pitch #3, and, finally, delivers Pitch #4 before Herrera has come reasonably set in the batter's box, which results in the baseball arriving at home plate a mere fraction of a second after a visibly startled Herrera jumps backward and out of the left-handed batter's box.

Scherzer's 1-2 delivery to Herrera appears to constitute an illegal quick pitch and, as Rule 6.02(a)(5) Comment states, "is dangerous and should not be permitted." This play should have been called back. The strike three call was incorrect as the ball should have been dead on the illegal pitch thrown to a batter who wasn't reasonably set, play resuming with a 2-2 count.
Related PostRules Review - About Cleveland's Quick Pitch in Seattle (6/9/16).
Related PostMLB Ejection 016 - Ramon De Jesus (John Gibbons) (7/23/17).

What About the Batter's Box Rule?: Though Official Baseball Rule 5.04(b)(4) states, "The batter shall keep at least one foot in the batter’s box throughout the batter’s time at bat," with exceptions allowed for a swing, check swing, "Time" call, pickoff play, fake bunt, wild pitch/passed ball, pitcher delay, or catcher leaving the catcher's box, the penalty for batter's violation is "the umpire shall issue a warning to the batter for the batter’s first violation of this Rule in a game. For a batter’s second or subsequent violations of this Rule in a game, the League President may issue an appropriate discipline."

Note that in Minor League Baseball only, a second violation will result in an automatic strike called with no pitch having been thrown. The ball is automatically dead upon the enforcement of this penalty.

Meanwhile, Rule 5.04(b)(3) states, "If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead and no runners may advance."

To bring everything full circle, notice that Herrera's preparation ritual takes place with his left foot within the batter's box (if not with both feet in the box). Thus, he is legal. However, even if Herrera was not legal pursuant to batter's box Rule 5.04(b)(4), a quick pitch is still illegal. Similarly, even if an umpire feels a batter is taking too long, the remedy is a Rule 5.04(b)(3) automatic strike—not allowing the pitcher to pitch when the batter isn't looking (something about being "dangerous"). Two wrongs don't make a right, and if a batter is not in compliance with 5.04(b), the umpire shall impose a warning or penalty before a pitch is thrown. As the rule states, "the ball is dead."

Videos (2x) as follows:

Friday, June 16, 2017

MLB Ejection 066 - Jeff Kellogg (1; Joe Maddon)

3B Umpire Jeff Kellogg ejected Cubs Manager Joe Maddon (Replay Review; HR/Foul call by 1B Umpire Clint Fagan) in the top of the 1st inning of the Cubs-Pirates game. With none out and none on, Cubs batter Anthony Rizzo hit a 2-2 fastball from Pirates pitcher Trevor Williams on a fly ball to deep right field near and past the foul pole, initially ruled fair by 1B Umpire Fagan and reversed to a foul ball after umpire consultation. Upon Replay Review as the result of a Crew Chief Review by Kellogg, the foul call stood, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 0-0. The Cubs ultimately won the contest, 9-5.

This is Jeff Kellogg (8)'s first ejection of the 2017 MLB regular season.
Jeff Kellogg now has 4 points in the UEFL Standings (1 Previous + 2 MLB + 1 QOCY-Crewmate = 4).
Crew Chief Jeff Kellogg now has 0 points in Crew Division (-1 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 0).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-c-1-a: "All classifications in regards to calls that are upheld or overturned after umpire consultation or instant replay challenge shall revert to whichever umpire would have had primary responsibility (calling) had the consultation or challenge not occurred."

This is the 66th ejection report of 2017.
This is the 34th Manager ejection of 2017.
This is Chicago-NL's 1st ejection of 2017, 4th in the NL Central (PIT, STL 3; MIL 2; CHC 1; CIN 0).
This is Joe Maddon's first ejection since September 12, 2016 (Joe West; QOC = U [USC-NEC]).
This is Jeff Kellogg's first ejection since July 30, 2016 (Terry Collins; QOC = Y [Replay Review]).

Wrap: Chicago Cubs vs. Pittsburgh Pirates, 6/16/17 | Video via "Read More"

Saturday, August 20, 2016

Case Play 2016-8 - Time Goes Out During Play [Solved]

Orlando Arcia ended up on third base after collecting his first career hit when Jean Segura threw the ball into the Brewers dugout as Arcia stood at first base.

Umpires O'Nora, Segal, Tumpane & Kellogg.
The Play: With two out and one (R3) on during Milwaukee's weekend series in Arizona, Arcia hit a line drive into right field, scoring the runner from third. When the ball was subsequently thrown back into the infield with Arcia content and standing at first base with his first career RBI single, Diamondbacks second baseman Jean Segura threw the milestone baseball toward the Brewers dugout, as is MLB tradition, where Scooter Gennett was waiting on the top step, with a foot on the warning track, to retrieve it, while 1B Umpire John Tumpane was waiting to rule on the legality of the play.

Replays indicate that HP Umpire Jeff Kellogg appeared to call "time" before F4 Segura released his throw.

Question: Given the aforementioned play, consider the following variations relative to when the plate umpire called "Time" and state where batter-runner Arcia should be placed for each scenario.
(A) Umpire calls "Time" before Segura throws the ball (as occurred during the aforementioned play).
(B) Umpire calls "Time" after Segura throws the ball, but before it arrives at the dugout (is in the air).
(C) Umpire calls "Time" after Segura's throw is caught by Gennett, who is still outside the dugout.
(D) Umpire calls "Time" after Segura's throw is caught by Gennett, who is back inside the dugout.

Solution: In general, play is suspended at the moment an umpire calls "Time" [5.12(a)]; however, ensuing action such as the departure from the playing field of a ball that had been thrown before "Time" was called, may determine certain penalties or awards to be applied during the dead ball period [6.01(h) Comment]. As such...
(A) B1 Arcia remains at first base, as "Time" had been called prior to Segura's throw.
(B) B1 Arcia is awarded third base (two bases from the time of the throw).
(C) B1 Arcia is awarded third base.
(D) B1 Arcia is awarded third base.
Final note: Gennett's actions of catching the throw on the lip of the dugout (live ball territory) simply means that the play becomes dead the moment he intentionally grabbed the ball (only applicable to scenarios (C) and (D)). The "nullify the act" portion of the interference rule means that the umpires shall apply their judgment to determine whether, if not for the interference, Segura's throw would have exited the playing field and, thus, entitled Arcia to third base.
Postscript Note: Naturally, common sense would dictate that the throw wasn't "wild" but merely a post-play courtesy for a rookie Major Leaguer who just collected his first career big league hit.

Official Baseball Rules Library
OBR 5.06(b)(4)(G): "Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance—Two bases when, with no spectators on the playing field, a thrown ball goes into the stands, or into a bench (whether or not the ball rebounds into the field), or over or under or through a field fence, or on a slanting part of the screen above the backstop, or remains in the meshes of a wire screen protecting spectators. The ball is dead. When such wild throw is the first play by an infielder, the umpire, in awarding such bases, shall be governed by the position of the runners at the time the ball was pitched; in all other cases the umpire shall be governed by the position of the runners at the time the wild throw was made."
OBR 5.12(a): "When an umpire suspends play, he shall call “Time.” At the umpire-in-chief’s call of “Play,” the suspension is lifted and play resumes. Between the call of “Time” and the call of “Play” the ball is dead."
OBR 5.12(b): "The ball becomes dead when an umpire calls 'Time.'"
OBR 6.01(d): "In case of unintentional interference with play by any person herein authorized to be on the playing field (except members of the team at bat who are participating in the game, or a base coach, any of whom interfere with a fielder attempting to field a batted or thrown ball; or an umpire) the ball is alive and in play. If the interference is intentional, the ball shall be dead at the moment of the interference and the umpire shall impose such penalties as in his opinion will nullify the act of interference."
OBR 6.01(h) Comment: "The ball is immediately dead when this signal ["Time" due to obstruction] is given; however, should a thrown ball be in flight before the obstruction is called by the umpire, the runners are to be awarded such bases on wild throws as they would have been awarded had not obstruction occurred."
Universal Ground Rules: "Ball on the top step (lip) of the dugout is in play."

Video available via "Read more"

Saturday, July 30, 2016

MLB Ejection 119 - Jeff Kellogg (5; Terry Collins)

1B Umpire Jeff Kellogg ejected Mets Manager Terry Collins for arguing a Replay Review decision that overturned 3B Umpire Chris Guccione's home run call to an out due to fan interference in the bottom of the 9th inning of the Rockies-Mets game. With none out and none on, Mets batter Wilmer Flores hit a 1-1 fastball from Rockies pitcher Gonzalez Germen on a fly ball to deep left field, whereupon Rockies left fielder David Dahl prepared to make a play on the batted ball as a spectator caught the live ball near the top of the outfield wall. Upon Replay Review as the result of a Crew Chief review, the Replay Official determined the fan reached out onto the playing field to touch the baseball, and in doing so, interfered and prevented outfielder Dahl from making the putout, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Rockies were leading, 7-2. The Rockies ultimately won the contest, 7-2.

This is Jeff Kellogg (8)'s fifth ejection of the 2016 MLB regular season.
Jeff Kellogg now has 15 points in the UEFL Standings (11 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 15).
Crew Chief Jeff Kellogg now has 6 points in Crew Division (5 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 6).
*Definition of Terms: "Spectator interference occurs when a spectator reaches out of the stands and over the playing field, or goes on the playing field, and (1) touches a live ball or (2) touches a player and hinders an attempt to make a play on a live ball."
*OBR 6.01(e) states, "APPROVED RULING: If spectator interference clearly prevents a fielder from catching a fly ball, the umpire shall declare the batter out."

This is the 119th ejection report of the 2016 regular season.
This is the 50th Manager ejection of 2016.
This is New York's 5th ejection of 2016, 2nd in the NL East (ATL 7; NYM 5; MIA, WAS 3; PHI 1).
This is Terry Collins' 3rd ejection of 2016, 1st since May 28 (Adam Hamari; QOC = U [USC-NEC]).
This is Jeff Kellogg's first ejection since May 11, 2016 (Bryan Price; QOC = U [Throwing At]).

Wrap: Colorado Rockies vs. New York Mets, 7/30/16 | Video available via "Read more"

Wednesday, May 11, 2016

MLB Ejections 033-036 - Alan Porter, Jeff Kellogg (PIT-CIN)

2B Umpire Alan Porter ejected Pirates LF Starling Marte & HP Umpire Jeff Kellogg ejected Pirates Manager Clint Hurdle for arguing Replay Review (overturned call) in the top of the 6th, and HP Umpire Kellogg ejected Reds P Ross Ohlendorf and Manager Bryan Price for throwing at Pirates batter David Freese in the top of the 9th inning of the Pirates-Reds game. In the 6th, with two out and one on, Pirates baserunner R1 Starling Marte attempted to steal second base off Reds catcher Tucker Barnhart, who threw to second baseman Brandon Phillips as Marte arrived at second base. Upon Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Reds Manager Bryan Price, 2B Umpire Porter's safe call was overturned as Phillips' glove appeared to Marte's hand while Marte was not in contact with the base, the call was correct. At the time of the Pirates' ejections, the Reds were leading, 4-2. In the 9th, with two out and one on (R2), Pirates batter Freese took a 2-0 fastball from Reds pitcher Ohlendorf for a hit-by-pitch. Replays indicate the pitch was located inside and struck Freese on the left arm, the call was irrecusable; warnings had previously been issued and there were six HBP in the game.* At the time of the Reds' ejections, the Pirates were leading, 5-4. The Pirates ultimately won the contest, 5-4.

This is Alan Porter (64)'s first ejection of the 2016 MLB regular season.
These are Jeff Kellogg (8)'s second, third, and fourth ejections of the 2016 MLB regular season.
Alan Porter now has 8 points in the UEFL Standings (4 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 8).
Jeff Kellogg now has 14 pts in the UEFL Standings (6 Previous + 3*[2 MLB] + 2 QOCY + 0 QOCU = 14).
Crew Chief Jeff Kellogg now has 8 points in Crew Division (4 Previous + 2 QOCY + 2 QOCU = 8).
*MLB suspended Ohlendorf 3 games, Price 1 game, for the intent HBP with warnings in effect.

These are the 33rd, 34th, 35th, and 36th ejection reports of the 2016 MLB regular season.
These are the 18th and 19th player ejections of 2016. Prior to ejection, Marte was 0-2 in the contest.
These are the 16th and 17th Manager ejections of 216.
This is the Pirates' 1/2nd ejections of 2016, T-1st in the NL Central (CIN, PIT 2; CHC 1; MIL, STL 0).
This is the Reds' 1/2nd ejections of 2016, T-1st in the NL Central (CIN, PIT 2; CHC 1; MIL, STL 0).
This is Starling Marte's first career MLB ejection.
This is Clint Hurdle's first ejection since August 2, 2015 (DJ Reyburn; QOC = U [Arguing Ejection]).
This is Ross Ohlendorf's first career MLB ejection.
This is Bryan Price's first ejection since September 9, 2015 (Bill Welke; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Alan Porter's first ejection since August 27, 2015 (Francisco Cervelli; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Jeff Kellogg's first ejection since April 8, 2016 (Dave Roberts; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Pittsburgh Pirates vs. Cincinnati Reds, 5/11/16
Video: Replay Review produces two ejections; hit batsman takes two more later on ("Read more")

Saturday, April 23, 2016

Injury - Jeff Kellogg Out After Hit to the Head

Jeff Kellogg was injured during Friday night's Mets-Braves game after taking a foul ball off the bat of Nick Markakis and into the lower left portion of Kellogg's traditional-style facemask. After caroming off the mask, the ball struck Kellogg's left shoulder.

During the ensuing inning break, crewmate Alan Porter changed into his plate equipment and replaced Kellogg for the remainder of the game and series. Kellogg is listed as day-to-day with an undisclosed injury.

Greg Gibson took over for Kellogg at third base on Saturday, serving as acting crew chief with John Tumpane, Lance Barksdale and Alan Porter. Gibson previously officiated with Dana DeMuth's crew (Ed Hickox, Nic Lentz) in Cincinnati. Mike Estabrook was brought in to replace Gibson in CIN.

Kellogg previously suffered "a pretty bad migraine" after taking a foul ball off the bat of former Angels batter Torii Hunter in 2012; he exited that ballgame after the knock as well.

Friday, April 8, 2016

MLB Ejection 002 - Jeff Kellogg (1; Dave Roberts)

HP Umpire Jeff Kellogg ejected Dodgers Manager Dave Roberts for arguing a ball one call in the bottom of the 8th inning of the Dodgers-Giants game. With one out and one on, Giants batter Trevor Brown took three consecutive pitches from Dodgers pitcher Chris Hatcher for called balls before hitting a home run on a 3-0 count; immediately thereafter, Ehire Adrianza walked on five pitches (four balls, one foul) and Denard Span took a first-pitch fastball for a called first ball. Replays indicate all eight callable pitches to Brown, Adrianza, and Span ruled as balls were located out of the strike zone (8/8; 100% Accuracy) with the pitch to Span located off the outer edge of home plate and thigh high (px -1.136, pz 2.005), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 2-2. The Giants ultimately won the contest, 3-2, in 10 innings.

This is Jeff Kellogg (8)'s first ejection of 2016.
Jeff Kellogg now has 4 points in the UEFL Standings (0 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 4).
Crew Chief Jeff Kellogg now has 2 points in Crew Division (1 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 2).
*Px would have to had been less than |.916| in order for the pitch to Span to have been a strike.

This is the second ejection of the 2016 MLB regular season.
This is the 1st Manager ejection of 2016.
This is the Dodgers' 1st ejection of 2016, 1st in the NL West (LAD 1; ARI, COL, SD, SF 0).
This is Dave Roberts' first career MLB ejection.
This is Jeff Kellogg's first ejection since August 24, 2015 (Erik Cordier; QOC = U [Throwing At]).

Wrap: Los Angeles Dodgers vs. San Francisco Giants (National League Baseball), 4/8/16
Video: Having yanked his starter in the middle of a no-hitter bid, Roberts stung (LA, "Read more")

Monday, August 24, 2015

MLB Ejection 178: Jeff Kellogg (1; Erik Cordier)

HP Umpire Jeff Kellogg ejected Marlins P Erik Cordier for throwing at Pirates batter Sean Rodriguez in the top of the 8th inning of the Pirates-Marlins game. With none out and none on, Rodriguez took a 0-1 fastball from Cordier for a hit-by-pitch. Replays indicate the pitch was located inside and struck Rodriguez in the left wrist after ball one was thrown inside and shoulder high, the call was irrecusable. At the time of the ejection, the Pirates were leading, 3-1. The Pirates ultimately won the contest, 5-2.

This is Jeff Kellogg (8)'s first ejection of 2015.
Jeff Kellogg now has 4 points in the UEFL Standings (2 Previous + 2 MLB + 0 Irrecusable Call = 4).
Crew Chief Jeff Kellogg now has 8 points in Crew Division (7 Prev + 1 Irrecusable Call = 8).

This is the 178th ejection of the 2015 MLB Regular Season.
This is the 78th player ejection of 2015. Prior to ejection, Cordier's line was 0.0 IP, ER.
This is the Marlins' 3rd ejection of 2015, 5th in the NL East (WAS 7; ATL, NYM, PHI 4; MIA 3).
This is Erik Cordier's first career MLB ejection.
This is Jeff Kellogg's first ejection since September 11, 2014 (Rob Leary; QOC = U [Throwing At]).

Wrap: Pittsburgh Pirates vs. Miami Marlins, 8/24/15
Video: Cordier's pitches to S-Rod run up and in, resulting in ejection when the second hits his batter (MIA)

Saturday, September 13, 2014

MLB Instant Replay Reviews 1163-1172: Sept 13, 2014

September 13, 2014 featured the following MLB Instant Replay Review decisions:

TypeR#PosUmpireRU#TeamRT#NameInnPreResult
R11631BHickox, Ed14BAL34Buck Showalter1SafeOverturned
R11643BVanover, Larry17MIN37Ron Gardenhire7FairConfirmed
R11652BBarrett, Ted16PIT43Clint Hurdle7SafeStands
R11662BFoster, Marty12PHI37Ryne Sandberg3SafeOverturned
R11671BLayne, Jerry14DET40Brad Ausmus8SafeOverturned
R11681BNelson, Jeff12STL34Mike Matheny9SafeStands
r11691BNelson, Jeff13STL35Mike Matheny92BConfirmed
r11702BKellogg, Jeff10SD36Bud Black6Not HRStands
R11711BEddings, Doug19LAD42Don Mattingly6OutOverturned
R11722BGorman, Brian12SEA40Lloyd McClendon9SafeOverturned

MLB Instant Replay Review Videos (MLB Advanced Media):
Video 1163: NYY@BAL: Orioles challenge safe, overturned in 1st
Video 1164: MIN@CWS: Twins challenge fair ball, confirmed in 7th
Video 1165: CHC@PIT: Safe call at second stands in 7th
Video 1166: MIA@PHI: Safe call at second overturned in 3rd inning
Video 1167: CLE@DET: Safe call at first overturned in 8th inning
Video 1168: COL@STL: Safe call stands at first in the 9th
Video 1169: COL@STL: Umpires confirm McKenry's double in the 9th
Video 1170: SD@ARI: Umpires review triple in 6th, call stands
Video 1171: LAD@SF: Out call at first overturned in 6th inning
Video 1172: OAK@SEA: Safe call overturned at second in 9th