Showing posts with label Rule 6.01. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Rule 6.01. Show all posts

Tuesday, September 9, 2025

Did Runner Interfere So Teammate Could Score?

Chicago trapped Colorado batter-runner Yanquiel Fernández in a rundown as Rockies lead baserunner Warming Bernabel attempted to score. As Cubs second baseman Nico Hoerner received a throw from Michael Busch, BR Fernández collided with him, 2B Umpire Alan Porter ruling an out on the tag, but not interference, the delay from the collision allowing R1 Bernabel additional time to score, with a slide into home plate just ahead of the tag attempt.

Should this have been ruled interference or, because Fernández hadn't yet been tagged until after the initial collision (although he was tagged while being shoved away by Hoerner), does the relevant rule pertaining to a retired runner not apply? For reference that rule is Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(5): "Any batter or runner who has just been put out, or any runner who has just scored, hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his teammate."

Video as follows:

Wednesday, September 3, 2025

Obstruction in Boston as Runner & Catcher Collide on Batted Ball

"Obstruction!" announced umpire Jordan Baker after Guardians batter-runner José Ramírez and Red Sox catcher Connor Wong collided on a batted ball up the first baseline. Instead of an out, Ramírez was awarded first base and Cleveland's Brayan Rocchio scored from third. What's the rule and did Baker's crew get the call right?

With one out and runners on second and third in the top of the 2nd inning of Wednesday's Guardians vs Red Sox game, batter Ramírez hit a check swing ground ball in front of home plate toward first base. Boston catcher Wong initially pursued the batted ball before stopping once he saw pitcher Steven Matz running to field it, turning around to head back to cover home plate as R3 Rocchio raced in.

But as Wong turned toward home, he collided with batter-runner Ramírez. Initially ruled interference on Ramírez, chief Baker called his crew into consultation, ultimately ruling that, because Wong was not entitled to protection under the rules for fielding a batted ball, he therefore obstructed the batter-runner. Accordingly, the batter-runner was awarded first base and all runners advanced one base.

In general, baseball's right-of-way rules give the fielder the right to field a batted ball (meaning the runners must avoid the fielder lest they be guilty of interference) while the runner has the right to run the bases at any other time (the fielder must get out of the runner's way). However, only one fielder is entitled to right-of-way protection on a batted ball and, in this case, that protected fielder was not the pitcher, not the catcher. As such, the unprotected catcher obstructed the runner's right to run the bases.

This is the correct call pursuant to the following rules:
Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(10): "It is interference by a batter or a runner when they fail to avoid a fielder who is attempting to field a batted ball, or intentionally interfere with a thrown ball, provided that if two or more fielders attempt to field a batted ball, and the runner comes in contact with one or more of them, the umpire shall determine which fielder is entitled to the benefit of this rule, and shall not declare the runner out for coming in contact with a fielder other than the one the umpire determines to be entitled to field such a ball."
OBR 6.01(h)(1): "If a play is being made on the obstructed runner, or if the batter-runner is obstructed before they touch first base, the ball is dead and all runners shall advance, without liability to be put out, to the bases they would have reached, in the umpire’s judgment, if there had been no obstruction. The obstructed runner shall be awarded at least one base beyond the base they had last legally touched before the obstruction."

Wrap: Cleveland Guardians vs Boston Red Sox, 9/3/25 | Video as follows:

Monday, August 25, 2025

Runner Touched by Fair Ball in Little League - What's the Call?

What happens when a runner is touched by a fair ball? During the Canada vs Aruba Little League World Series game, a baserunner from first base ran into a batted ball after it passed the drawn-in first baseman, but before it got to the second baseman backing up. Umpires, what's the call here?

With one out and one on, a ground ball to the right side eluded Aruba's diving first baseman, without touching him or his glove, before striking baserunner R1 behind him, as the second baseman ranged to his left to potentially back up the play. After initially ruling runner R1 out, umpires ultimately placed R1 on second base, deeming that he did not interfere with the batted ball.

Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(11) states it is interference when "A fair ball touches them on fair territory before touching a fielder. If a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, and touches a runner immediately back of him, or touches the runner after having been deflected by a fielder, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball. In making such decision the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the fielder, and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball."

Little League Rule 5.09(f) is nearly identical in outcome: "If a fair ball goes through, or by an infielder and touches a runner immediately back of said infielder or touches a runner after being deflected by an infielder, the ball is in play and the umpire shall not declare the runner out. In making such decision, the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the infielder and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball; runners advance if forced."

Given that the ball did not make contact with the first baseman, the operative question, thus, is whether or not the second baseman had the chance to make a play on the ball. If he did, then the runner is out. If he did not, then the runner is not out. What's your call?

Video as follows:

Wednesday, August 13, 2025

MLB Ejection 125 - Ryan Blakney (2; Alex Cora)

HP Umpire Ryan Blakney ejected Red Sox manager Alex Cora (balk no-call on Hunter Brown; QOCY) in the top of the 7th inning of the #RedSox-#Astros game. With two out and one on, Red Sox batter Romy Gonzalez took two pitches from Astros pitcher Brown, ruled ball one and strike one. Boston contended that Brown balked because he failed to declare his switch from Windup Position during the first pitch of the at-bat to Set Position for the second pitch of the at-bat. By rule, a pitcher needn't declare use of Set Position with a runner on the base—it is not a balk—the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Astros were leading, 2-1. The Astros ultimately won the contest, 4-1.

This is Ryan Blakney (36)'s 2nd ejection of 2025.
*Official Baseball Rule 5.07(a): "There are two legal pitching positions, the Windup Position and the Set Position, and either position may be used at any time."
OBR 5.07(a)(2) Comment: "With a runner or runners on base, a pitcher will be presumed to be pitching from the Set Position if they stand with their pivot foot in contact with and parallel to the pitcher’s plate, and their other foot in front of the pitcher’s plate, unless they notify the umpire that they will be pitching from the Windup Position under such circumstances prior to the beginning of an at-bat."

This is the 125th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 66th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 66 Managers, 21 Coaches, 38 Players.
This is Boston's 7th ejection of 2025, 1st in the AL East (NYY 11; BOS 7; TOR 6; BAL 5; TB 3).
This is Alex Cora's 1st ejection since June 23, 2025 (Alan Porter; QOC = N [Obstruction]).
This is Ryan Blakney's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since June 21 (Lawrence Butler; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Tuesday, July 22, 2025

Narváez Called for CI for 2nd Day in a Row - Balk Too!

Called for catcher's interference one day earlier, Red Sox catcher Carlos Narváez again committed CI, this time with a side of balk as HP Umpire Edwin Jimenez ruling he stepped in front of the back edge of home plate prior during a pitch and prior to receiving the ball as Phillies runner Bryce Harper looked to steal home plate.

Catcher's interference is defined more broadly as defensive interference in the Official Baseball Rules: "an act by a fielder that hinders or prevents a batter from hitting a pitch." In high school (NFHS), catcher's interference is called catcher's obstruction, as NFHS defensive interference is specifically an act that occurs prior to the pitch.

Official Baseball Rule 6.01(g) directly addresses this case of the so-called catcher's balk: "If, with a runner on third base and trying to score by means of a squeeze play or a steal, the catcher or any other fielder steps on, or in front of home base without possession of the ball, or touches the batter or their bat, the pitcher shall be charged with a balk, the batter shall be awarded first base on the interference and the ball is dead."

Video as follows:

Phillies Win on Walk-Off Catcher's Interference

A walk-off win due to catcher's interference in Philadelphia left some Boston fans perplexed as Phillies batter Edmundo Sosa's bat made contact with Red Sox catcher Carlos Narváez during a 2-2 pitch, HP Umpire Quinn Wolcott announcing Replay Review's verdict over the stadium PA much to the delight of the home crowd. Because the bases were loaded at the time of the interference, all runners advanced and the tied game ended in the 10th inning.

Catcher's interference is defined more broadly as defensive interference in the Official Baseball Rules: "an act by a fielder that hinders or prevents a batter from hitting a pitch." In high school (NFHS), catcher's interference is called catcher's obstruction, as NFHS defensive interference is specifically an act that occurs prior to the pitch.

OBR 6.01(c) specifies the penalty for catcher's interference: "The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be put out (provided they advance to and touches first base) when the catcher or any fielder interferes with them."

It is a rules myth that the batter must actually legitimately swing for catcher's interference to be called. For instance, catcher's interference also occurs when a catcher steps on or across home plate prior to the pitch's arrival, whether or not the batter actually swings at the pitch. Instead, catcher's interference occurs when the catcher's physical positioning (of body and/or glove/mitt) deprives the batter of the opportunity to choose whether to swing or not.

Because batter Sosa is said to have been deprived of this freedom of choice by virtue of the bat-mitt contact, the Replay Official overturned the on-field no-call and awarded the interference penalty, resulting in a walk-off win.

Video as follows:

Sunday, July 13, 2025

Red Sox Score Tie-Breaking Run on Obstruction vs Rays

3B Umpire Scott Barry's obstruction call on Rays third baseman Junior Caminero for base blocking broke a 0-0 tie, giving Boston a lead when Red Sox runner Marcelo Mayer found himself seemingly picked off by Tampa Bay catcher Matt Thaiss, only for umpire Barry to quickly reverse course and rule that Caminero impeded baserunner Mayer's return to third base due to improper footing.

The Official Baseball Rules define obstruction as "the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner."

Although Rays fielder Caminero was indeed in the act of fielding at the time of obstruction (by virtue of preparing to receive the throw), umpires ruled that he did not need to block the base in order to do so. Because Caminero blocked the base voluntarily and outside the scope of simply fielding the ball/throw, obstruction was the proper call.

Official Baseball Rule 6.01(h)(1) prescribes the penalty for Type 1 (Type B) obstruction: "If a play is being made on the obstructed runner, or if the batter-runner is obstructed before they touch first base...the obstructed runner shall be awarded at least one base beyond the base they had last legally touched before the obstruction." This is why baserunner R3 Mayer scored, rather than remained at third base.

Umpire Barry initially stated "stay here" in regard to Mayer's slide back into third base, as HP Umpire Adam Beck walked up the line, the umpires ultimately applying the proper ruling in OBR 6.01(h)(1) to award the runner his next base.

Video as follows:

Wednesday, July 9, 2025

A Balk of Lightning - Umpire's Thunder Jump Scare Call

A surprise lightning strike during Norfolk Tides pitcher Roansy Contreras' delivery resulted in a thunder-scoring balk for Jacksonville as HP Umpire Derek Thomas called Contreras for illegally stopping his pitching motion. Was this the correct call or did Tides manager Tim Federowicz have an argument due to the extreme nature of the inclement weather.

With none out and a runner on third in the bottom of the 1st inning of the Tides vs Jumbo Shrimp game in Triple-A, lightning struck somewhere near Jacksonville's stadium, and the thunder just happened to clap as Contreras was beginning his delivery. Replays indicate that in the wake of the thunder, both the pitcher and batter left their respective positions (pitcher stepping off the rubber and batter exiting the box). HP Umpire Thomas ruled that Contreras balked first and waved home Jacksonville baserunner R3 Jakob Marsee to put Jacksonville on the board.

Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(1) governs the start-stop balk and states, "If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when the pitcher, while touching their plate, makes any motion naturally associated with their pitch and fails to make such delivery." To that end, the balk call was technically correct.

However, OBR 5.12(b)(1) addresses the case of calling "Time" during inclement weather: "The umpire in chief shall call 'Time' when in their judgment weather, darkness, or similar conditions make immediate further play impossible." This rule would have empowered the umpire to call "Time" during play itself, if the loud thunder clap were to have been deemed a condition making immediate further play impossible.

Finally, OBR 5.04(b)(2) discusses what happens when both a pitcher and batter violate a rule, such as both leaving positions during delivery: "Both the pitcher and batter have violated a rule and the umpire shall call time and both the batter and pitcher start over from 'scratch.'" Under this rule, the play could have been nullified and ruled no-pitch, effectively baseball's version of a do-over.

It should also be noted that in college, NCAA Rule 4-2-b, the lightning rule, addresses what to do in a lightning situation: "In the case of lightning, the game administrator and umpire-in-chief shall follow lightning guidelines..." Under these guidelines, games must come to an immediate halt upon lightning striking within a certain distance of the stadium and the suspended games may not be resumed until at least 30 minutes have elapsed since the last lightning strike within the prescribed radius. High school is similar.

But professional baseball has no such rule, meaning that the entirety of lightning or thunder-related pauses falls into the umpire's hands of judgment.

Video as follows:

Saturday, July 5, 2025

Runner Prevents Double Play by Fielding Ground Ball - Is That Legal?

Have you ever seen a baserunner field a ground ball? During July 1's La Crosse Loggers vs Duluth Huskies game in the Northwoods League, runner R2 Ethan Surowiec sought to prevent a double play on a bases loaded ground ball, opting to field the batted ball in front of La Crosse's waiting shortstop, resulting in a dead ball, with umpires ruling R2 Surowiec out and awarding batter-runner Reagan Reeder first base (the official scoring put this as a fielder's choice, but by rule this application would be credited as a single for the batter).

But was this the correct call?

This precise scenario is covered by Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(6): "If, in the judgment of the umpire, a base runner willfully and deliberately interferes with a batted ball or a fielder in the act of fielding a batted ball with the obvious intent to break up a double play, the ball is dead. The umpire shall call the runner out for interference and also call out the batter-runner because of the action of their teammate. In no event may bases be run or runs scored because of such action by a runner."

College's rule is even stricter, not requiring "obvious intent" but simply intentional interference: "If a double play is likely, and the runner intentionally interferes with the fielder who is attempting to field or throw the ball, both the runner and batter-runner shall be declared out" (NCAA 8-5-d).

High school returns to OBR's "obvious" standard: "The batter-runner is out when any runner or retired runner interferes (2-21-1, 2-30-3) in a way which obviously hinders an obvious double play" (NFHS 8-4-1h).

In sum, this very likely should have been ruled a double play. | Video as follows:

Thursday, July 3, 2025

Marlins Lose Run on Umpire Interference as Ball Hits U2

Miami lost its tying run, then the game, vs Minnesota when Kyle Stowers' single hit 2B Umpire Emil Jimenez, positioned inside with Marlins baserunner R2 Jesús Sánchez at second. Although appearing to score on the outfield base hit, an umpire interference call returned runner Sánchez to second base, prompting a brief discussion between Marlins manager Clayton McCullough and Crew Chief James Hoye at home plate.

Official Baseball Rule 6.01(f) defines umpire interference: "Umpire’s interference occurs (1) when a plate umpire hinders, impedes or prevents a catcher’s throw attempting to prevent a stolen base or retire a runner on a pick-off play; or (2) when a fair ball touches an umpire on fair territory before passing a fielder."

It's important to note that the final word of this citation—"fielder"—does not include the pitcher for the purposes of this provision. However, if the pitcher (or any fielder) first touches the fair ball, then it is not umpire's interference even if the ball subsequently strikes an umpire working inside, as U2 Jimenez did here.

OBR 5.06(c)(6) proscribes the penalty for umpire interference: "The ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out when a fair ball touches a runner or an umpire on fair territory before it touches an infielder including the pitcher, or touches an umpire before it has passed an infielder other than the pitcher; runners advance, if forced."

This means that all returns return to their base as a result of umpire interference, unless forced to advance by virtue of the batter becoming a runner and assuming occupation of first base (e.g., if there's only a runner on second, that runner returns, but if there were runners at first and second at the start of the play, both runners would advance to accommodate the batter-runner's placement at first base).

Video as follows:

Saturday, May 24, 2025

Dodgers-Mets Obstruction, Tag-Up & Pirates Out of Base Path

Dodgers 3B Max Muncy's visual obstruction and Shohei Ohtani/Michael Conforto's timely tag-up in New York and Pirates runner Alexander Canario's out of the base path calls feature in this rules analysis trio. How did the umpires do?

Muncy's Obstruction: With one out and a runner on third, Mets batter Pete Alonso hit a fly ball to Dodgers right fielder Toescar Hernández, who threw home in time to retire baserunner R3 Starling Marte, with HP Umpire Ryan Blakney signaling the runner out on the tag. 3B Umpire Tripp Gibson, however, called "Time" and ruled obstruction on Dodgers 3B Muncy, awarding Marte home for a Mets run.

According to the MLB Umpire Manual pertaining to official rule interpretations, Muncy committed obstruction by intentionally positioning himself to block R3 Marte's view of the fielder catching the sacrifice fly: "This is obstruction under Official Baseball Rule 6.01(h)(2). The umpire should call the infraction when it occurs and award bases, if any, in the appropriate manner."

Ohtani & Conforto's Timely Tag-Ups: Also in this game, New York unsuccessfully challenged 2B Umpire Marvin Hudson's call that Dodgers baserunners R1 Ohtani and R2 Conforto did not leave early (fail to retouch) second base on an outfield fly ball that was caught. Mets outfielders Juan Soto and Tyron Taylor briefly juggled the fly ball before Taylor ultimately caught it. Replays indicate R2 Conforto left second base after Soto's first touch of the fly ball, but before Taylor's eventual catch.

According to the Official Baseball Rule's definition of a catch, "Runners may leave their bases the instant the first fielder touches the ball." This means Conforto timely retouched by leaving second base after fielder Soto's touch, even if he left before the bobbled ball was eventually caught.

Canario's Out of the Base Path Overslide: In Pittsburgh, HP Umpire Mark Wegner called Pirates baserunner Alexander Canario out at home for running more than three feet away to avoid a tag on a play at the plate. Runner Canario overslid home plate and, in doing so, Wegner ruled that Canario ran out of his base path, since the base path from the start of the tag attempt ends at the base to which the runner is trying.

OBR 5.09(b)(1) states, "Any runner is out when they run more than three feet away from their base path to avoid being tagged unless their action is to avoid interference with a fielder fielding a batted ball. A runner’s base path is established when the tag attempt occurs and is a straight line from the runner to the base they are attempting to reach safely."

Video as follows:

Friday, May 23, 2025

A Weird Walk-off Win on Base Coach Interference???

Despite umpires calling base coach assist interference, MiLB's Reno Aces walked off the Albuquerque Isotopes when CF Sam Hilliard threw a live ball over the outfield fence, allowing the winning run to score in one of the weirdest come-from-behind wins you'll ever see.

With one out and the bases loaded in the bottom of the 9th inning, visiting and defensive team Albuquerque held a 4-3 lead over offensive team Reno. Reno batter Connor Kaiser hit a 3-2 fastball on a sharp line drive to Albuquerque center fielder Hilliard as Reno baserunner R3 Aramis Garcia scored from third base.

However, as runner R2 Cristian Pache rounded third, he collided with a teammate who had come off the bench to celebrate, and who tried getting Pache reoriented to score after the collision. HP Umpire Steven Hodgins called assist interference on the bench, declaring Cristian Pache out, but because Hodgins used the base coach interference rule (as opposed to actual hinder-or-impede interference for runners and retired/scored teammates), the ball remained live.

Mistakenly thinking the game was already over (perhaps unaware of Pache being ruled out), CF Hilliard then threw the live ball over the fence and out of play, resulting in a dead ball and two base award for trailing runner R1 Andy Weber, who had attained second base (if not third base) by the time of the throw. This meant Weber was awarded home, scoring Reno's 5th run to preserve the wacky walk-off win.

Hodgins ruled Pache out under base coach assist Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(8), which states it is interference when "(8) In the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at third base, or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists them in returning to or leaving third base or first base."

This brand of interference is treated differently than the usual runners or retired runners' interference rules, which result in an immediate dead ball. According to Wendelstedt Manual, the ball remains live on base coach assist interference, and the ball remaining live allowed the rest of the play to occur: "Following a coach’s interference, the assisted runner is out, but the ball remains alive. Other runners may make bases or outs" (Wendelstedt p. 159).

The two-base award in OBR 5.06(b)(4)(G): "Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance two bases when, with no spectators on the playing field, a thrown ball goes into the stands," is taken at time-of-throw (as opposed to time-of-pitch), so R1's position at the time of the throw (either 2nd or 3rd base) meant that R1 scored as a result of his two-base award.

Video as follows:

Wednesday, May 14, 2025

MLB Ejection 034 - Mark Ripperger (1; Torey Lovullo)

1B Umpire Mark Ripperger ejected Diamondbacks manager Torey Lovullo (obstruction call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 8th inning of the #Diamondbacks-#Giants game. With two out and one on, Giants batter Heliot Ramos hit a 1-1 slider from Diamondbacks pitcher Ryne Nelson on the ground to third baseman Eugenio Suárez, who threw to first baseman Pavin Smith as Ramos arrived at first base, ruled safe by 1B Umpire Ripperger. Smith then threw to shortstop Geraldo Perdomo, who tagged Giants baserunner R1 Christian Koss off the base, ruled out by 2B Umpire Edwin Jimenez. After crew consultation, umpires called obstruction on Diamondbacks second baseman Jordan Lawlar and ruled Koss safe, awarding him second base pursuant to Type 2 obstruction (no play being made on the runner at the time of OBS). Replays indicate Koss, after rounding second base, collided with Lawlar, who was not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding it, the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Diamondbacks were leading, 8-6. The Diamondbacks ultimately won the contest, 8-7.

This is Mark Ripperger (90)'s 1st ejection of 2025.
Official Baseball Rules Definition: "OBSTRUCTION is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner."
OBR 6.01(h)(2): "If no play is being made on the obstructed runner, the play shall proceed until no further action is possible. The umpire shall then call “Time” and impose such penalties, if any, as in their judgment will nullify the act of obstruction."
OBR 8.02(c): "...No player, manager or coach shall be permitted to argue the exercise of the umpires’ discretion in resolving the play and any person so arguing shall be subject to ejection."

This is the 34th ejection of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 16th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 16 Managers, 9 Coaches, 9 Players.
This is Arizona's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st in the NL West (ARI 3; SD 2; LAD, SF 1; COL 0).
This is Torey Lovullo's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since April 8 (Laz Diaz; QOC = U [Check Swing]).
This is Mark Ripperger's 1st ejection since July 3, 2024 (Willy Adames; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Friday, May 9, 2025

MLB Ejection 023 - James Hoye (1; Pat Murphy)

3B Umpire James Hoye ejected Brewers manager Pat Murphy (obstruction call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 6th inning of the #Brewers-#Rays game. With two out and one on, Rays baserunner Junior Caminero attempted to steal second base, drawing a throw from Brewers catcher William Contreras as Rays baserunner R3 Christopher Morel ran far off third base, drawing a throw to third baseman Caleb Durbin, who was called for obstruction. Replays indicate Durbin blocked Morel's path to the base without possession of the ball and not in a legitimate attempt to field the throw, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Rays were leading, 3-2. The Rays ultimately won the contest, 4-3.

This is James Hoye (92)'s 1st ejection of 2025.
The Official Baseball Rules define obstruction as "the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner.
OBR 6.01(h)(1): "If a play is being made on the obstructed runner...The obstructed runner shall be awarded at least one base beyond the base they had last legally touched before the obstruction."

This is the 23rd manager ejection of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 10th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 10 Managers, 6 Coaches, 7 Players.
This is Cincinnati's 1/2nd ejection of 2025, 1st in the NL Central (CIN, MIL, STL 2; CHC 1; PIT 0).
This is Pat Murphy's 1st ejection since Sept 21, 2024 (Chris Segal; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is James Hoye's 1st ejection since Sept 10, 2024 (Edwin Uceta; QOC = U [Throwing At]).

Thursday, April 24, 2025

MiLB Manager Ejected After Odd Double Play

Umpire Chandler Durham ejected Lookouts manager Jose Moreno after an unusual double play when an already-out runner dove back into first base, confusing the batter-runner, who walked off the base even though he was safe. We take a look at the umpire mechanics of this play and discuss whether anything could have been done differently or whether the offensive team simply ran into an extra out.

With none out and one on (R1) in the top of the 7th inning of the Chattanooga Lookouts' game against the Knoxville Smokies, Lookouts batter-runner Héctor Rodríguez hit a ground ball/line drive to first base, fielded by Smokies first baseman BJ Murray, who threw to shortstop Ed Howard to force out Lookouts baserunner R1 Sal Stewart, who retreated and dove back into first base as Howard's return throw arrived late on batter-runner Rodríguez.

Despite 1B Umpire Spencer Kim signaling BR Rodríguez safe at first base, Rodríguez decided, seemingly on his own volition, to jog back to the dugout, leaving the base, whereupon first baseman Murray, now in possession of the ball, tagged him out for a double play.

We first establish that R1 Stewart's actions in returning to first base despite already being forced out at second does not constitute interference pursuant to Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(5): "If the batter or a runner continues to advance or returns or attempts to return to their last legally touched base after they have been put out, they shall not by that act alone be considered as confusing, hindering or impeding the fielders."

Second, noticing that during his argument Moreno animatedly motioned an "out" mechanic, alluding that perhaps the batter-runner was confused because the umpire signaled "out" prematurely, we observe that U1 Kim's only gestured mechanics during the initial action and before BR Rodríguez left first base on his way back to the dugout were "fair ball" and "safe"...U1 Kim did eventually signal "out" but only after the initial action concluded, only after the batter-runner started jogging back to his dugout, and only while also pointing to R1 Stewart to clarify that R1 Stewart was the one who was out.

In sum, the mechanics here did not contain an improper "out" signal as argued by the Lookouts. Instead, perhaps the confusion resulted from Chattanooga mistakenly thinking the batted ball was caught on the fly when it was not. Thus the only mechanic that could have been different here would have been the umpire signaling "safe" after the fair ball mechanic, to signify that the batted ball was indeed not caught in the air.

Video as follows:

Thursday, April 10, 2025

Obstruction Should Have Negated Collision Tag Play in PIT

Pirates 3B Ke'Bryan Hayes' made a heads up play to tag out Cardinals runner Thomas Saggese after 1B Endy Rodriguez and catcher Joey Bart collided in Pittsburgh, but should HP Umpire Lance Barksdale have called obstruction on the fielders lying prostrate in the runner's base path?

In short, "yes" and in long form, here's why:

With two out and runners on first and second base, Cardinals batter Willson Contreras hit a high fly ball in front of home plate, whereupon Pirates fielders Rodriguez and Bart collided, dropping the baseball in the process. As the ball rolled loose, Cardinals baserunner R2 Saggese attempted to score, tagged out by 3B Hayes who picked up the ball and tagged the runner before he slid into home plate.

Barksdale called the runner out instead of ruling obstruction on Pittsburgh, even though Rodriguez and Bart, having misplayed the batted ball, lay strewn across the baseline and directly in the path of R2 Saggese. Had obstruction been called, Saggese would have been awarded home and the inning would have continued, likely with R1 Masyn Winn advancing to third base.

The Official Baseball Rules define obstruction as "the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner."

Standing in an advancing runner's path without the ball and not in the act of fielding, thus blocking their direct progress, is very likely obstruction.

As for the act of fielding exemption, this applies to only one fielder: "If two or more fielders attempt to field a batted ball...the umpire shall determine which fielder is entitled to the benefit of this rule" (OBR 6.01(a)(10)). Although this is found in the offensive interference rule, the point about only one fielder receiving act-of-fielding protection applies here, as well.

Furthermore, a fielder is not considered "in the act of fielding" after the fielder attempts to field the ball and misses, which occurred here as well. Thus, this is obstruction, and because the ball was loose at the time of obstruction, it is Type 2 / B: "If no play is being made on the obstructed runner, the play shall proceed until no further action is possible. The umpire shall then call “Time” and impose such penalties, if any, as in their judgment will nullify the act of obstruction" (OBR 6.01(h)(2)), as no play can be considered as being made on a runner (as in OBS Type 1/A) while the ball is loose (e.g., not in the fielder's possession or not being thrown between teammates).

Video as follows:

Sunday, April 6, 2025

Pitcher Declares Windup, But Stops in Set...That's a Balk

Fresh into the Padres-Cubs game as a relief pitcher in a mutually disastrous first inning, San Diego pitcher Logan Gillaspie added to the carnage by immediately balking twice, with 3B Umpire Nate Tomlinson calling the crew in for consultation after just two pitches.

At issue was pitcher Gillaspie declaring to HP Umpire Mark Wegner his intention to pitch from Windup Position, which ordinarily grants the pitcher one step back before a second step forward, upon which the pitcher releases the ball.

Instead, Gillaspie took his first step back, but then brought both feet together, as in Set Position, stopping on the rubber, before restarting the motion and delivering the ball to the batter. Did Gillaspie change his mind about Windup vs Set and just not tell anyone?

Chicago's dugout cried foul, leading to Tomlinson's intervention and the crew's determination that Gillaspie had balked by stopping mid-delivery.

Official Baseball Rule 5.07(a)(1) defines Windup Position: "The pitcher shall stand facing the batter, their pivot foot in contact with the pitcher’s plate and the other foot free. From this position any natural movement associated with their delivery of the ball to the batter commits their to the pitch without interruption or alteration. They shall not raise either foot from the ground, except that in their actual delivery of the ball to the batter, they may take one step backward, and one step forward with their free foot."

Because Gillaspie pitching from Windup interrupted his motion by stopping, this is a start-stop balk, as in OBR 6.01(a)(1), "If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when the pitcher, while touching their plate, makes any motion naturally associated with their pitch and fails to make such delivery," and (5), "...makes an illegal pitch."

Video as follows:

Thursday, April 3, 2025

No, You Can't Hug Manny Machado - Interference at 3B

Hugging Padres 3B Manny Machado turned into an interference-aided double play for Guardians baserunner Gabriel Arias, as 3B Umpire John Bacon ruled that Arias prevented Machado from making a potential play on trailing Cleveland runner Austin Hedges.

With none out and runners on first and second base (R1, R2), Guardians runner R2 Arias took off for third base, drawing a throw from Padres pitcher Kyle Hart to Machado, who waited to tag Arias. But instead of giving himself up, Arias wrapped up Machado, who mimed a fake throw to second base where following runner Hedges was advancing.

Umpire Bacon, ruling that Arias' actions prevented Machado from making a potential play on another runner, ruled now-retired baserunner Arias guilty of interference pursuant to Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(5): "Any batter or runner who has just been put out, or any runner who has just scored, hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of their teammate."

Broadcasters also erroneously alleged that pitcher Hart balked in making his initial throw to third base, which was unoccupied to begin the play, and without first disengaging the rubber. 

While a pitcher is generally prohibited from throwing to an unoccupied base from the rubber, OBR 6.02(a)(4) makes one key exception that is relevant here: "If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when the pitcher, while touching their plate, throws, or feints a throw to an unoccupied base, except for the purpose of making a play."

Because R2 Arias was attempting to advance to third base, Hart's throw to third qualifies for the purpose-of-making-a-play exception to the balk rule and is therefore legal.

Video as follows:

Wednesday, October 30, 2024

Fan Interference in the World Series (Plus a C&C)

We review a first-inning spectator interference play in New York during Game 4 of #Dodgers-#Yankees World Series when a fan was ejected for prying open Mookie Betts' glove during a catch and Alex Verdugo's catch and carry play during Game 1 in Los Angeles.

First, in the 10th inning of Game 1, with one out and runners on first and second base, Yankees outfielder Verdugo ran to catch Dodgers batter Shohei Ohtani's fly ball in foul territory along the left field warning track, catching the baseball before falling into the stands and attempting to throw the ball back to the field to hold the runners.

LF Umpire Chad Fairchild ruled Ohtani out on the catch and awarded runners R1 and R2 one base each pursuant to Official Baseball Rule 5.06(b)(3)(C) pertaining to catch-and-carry situations, which states, "If a fielder, after having made a legal catch, should step or fall into any out-of-play area, the ball is dead and each runner shall advance one base, without liability to be put out, from their last legally touched base at the time the fielder entered such out-of-play area."

Finally, in Game 4 in New York, RF Umpire Mark Carlson called spectator interference when a front-row fan reached over the foul fence as Dodgers outfielder Betts was attempting to catch Gleyber Torres' fly ball. 

For this play, the relevant rules are found in the definitions: "Spectator interference occurs when a spectator (or an object thrown by the spectator) hinders a player’s attempt to make a play on a live ball, by going onto the playing field, or reaching out of the stands and over the playing field," and OBR 6.01(e): "When there is spectator interference with any thrown or batted ball, the ball shall be dead at the moment of interference and the umpire shall impose such penalties as in their opinion will nullify the act of interference."

Thus, to nullify the act, Torres was declared out and the fans ultimately ejected not by the umpires, but by Yankee Stadium security.

Video as follows:

Wednesday, October 9, 2024

Did Manny Machado Interfere with Freddie Freeman's Throw?

Dodgers 1B Freddie Freeman's throw hit Padres baserunner Manny Machado's back during San Diego's NLDS Game 3 win over LA, but was the runner legal or did Manny commit interference? Umpires ruled the play legal, but analysts were more divided on the play's legality. Let's get into the rulebook and figure out what happened and what the correct call was.

Padres batter Jackson Merrill hit a ground ball to Dodgers first baseman Freeman, whose throw to second base struck Machado in the upper back before caroming into left field, allowing Machado to advance to third base during a six-run rally in the bottom of the 2nd inning. 1B Umpire Dan Bellino and 2B Umpire Tripp Gibson, the two relevant umpires for this play, no-called the sequence, ruling Machado's baserunning legal.

To determine whether Machado interfered or not, we first must cite the relevant rule, which is Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(10), which states, "It is interference by a batter or runner when they fail to avoid a fielder who is attempting to field a batted ball, or intentionally interfere with a thrown ball."

Note that we are looking not solely for interference, but intentional interference with a thrown ball. The standard of intentional refers to deliberate action, such as waving of arms, hip check, or looking back after the throw is made and adjusting one's body position into the throw as a result of the look-back. Note that under the intentional standard, non-deliberate interference (e.g., being struck by the ball without any of the aforementioned intentionality indicators) is legal.

Replays indicate Machado began veering to his left prior to Freeman's release of the baseball. With no throw, there can be no OBR 6.01(a)(10) interference, and thus Machado's steps to his left prior to the throw mitigate potential intentional interference.

Two additional considerations from broadcasters and fans are runner's lane interference and out of the base path.

We first discuss the out of the base path issue, noting that the runner shall only be called for running out of the base path when they run more than three feet away from their established base path to avoid a fielder's tag. Since there was no tag attempt, and thus no base path to consider (OBR 5.09(b)(1): "A runner’s base path is established when the tag attempt occurs"), there can be no out of the base path call.

Finally, runner's lane interference, referred to by analyst Alex Rodriguez, does not apply to this play, since OBR 5.09(a)(11) states, in part, "...in the umpire’s judgment in so doing interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base." The throw was not being made to first base and, furthermore, the runner's lane only exists between home plate and first base. There is no runner's lane between 1B and 2B, thus no RLI call to make.

A similar play occurred in September 2022, when HP Umpire Chad Fairchild no-called Nick Senzel's throw hitting Andrew Knizner in the back during a Reds-Cardinals game.

In conclusion, this is a legal play. | Video as follows: