HOW TO RAISE ANGEL/ SEED FUNDING FOR
AGRIBUSINESS: INVESTOR PERSPECTIVE
Ravi Trivedi
Indian Administrative Fellowship, Agriculture
Govt of Karnataka, & The/ Nudge Foundation
Twitter: @trivediravi, ravi.trivedi@gmail.com
28-Nov-2021
360 degree Perspective
BACKGROUND
Principal – US Venture Capital Fund
4 investments, 2 exits
Investments
Angel Investments
Entrepreneur, Finance, & Tech
Coupons for India, Malaysia, Singapore
Web Push Notifications Platform
150+ Countries - [Acquired by Awesome Motive group]
Founder
Founder
7 investments, 3 partial exit, 1 exit
Agriculture
Equity Analyst
Software Developer
Focused on increasing
farmer income
Social Sector
Mentor
Advisory Board
Parivaar
AGENDA
Types of Startup & Funding Needs
Basics on Venture Capital & Angel
Why & What of Angel Investment
Typical Process of Fund raise
What do investors look for in Investment
Typical valuation in various stage
Term Sheet Basics & typical term sheet in seed
round
TYPES OF STARTUPS
Fast Growth, Funding Likely
Required
Organic Growth, Cash Flow
Positive
Example
Software as a Service,
Consumer, Agri-tech,
Services Company, Ad
Agency, Taxi Service,
Restaurant
Revenue Spend First, Earn Later Revenue from Operations
immediately
Funding Required May be needed at later stage
for growth
Risk Higher.
[ Over 95% fail]
Moderate
Time Longer time to build a
sustainable business. Need to
commit 10 years ( 5 years
min.)
Building a sustainable business
requires shorter duration
Focus of this discussion
STARTUP FINANCING CYCLE
Source: Wikipedia
ANGEL INVESTING VS VENTURE
INVESTING
Differences & Similarities
VENTURE CAPITAL 101
 Venture Capital Funds are professionally run
 Fund life is often 10 years. Means Investment to
Exit is between 5 to 8 years.
 Offer Advice, HR management, Office Space etc.
 Typically, Series A onwards or >$1M investments
 They fund 1 in 100 plans
 Often company > $1M in revenue at time of
Venture funding
 Often the next stage after Angel investment.
VENTURE CAPITAL/ANGEL 101
Why?
• A Pension fund needs to
grow its funds to match the
needs
• Investment Diversification
Source of Funds for Venture Capital
VENTURE CAPITAL 101
How do VC make money ?
 Sell or IPO the Invested Companies
 Target 33/33/33 Rule
 33 % Success – Most 2x to 10x,
but Superhits can be 50x to 200x
 33% Breakeven – 1x to 2x
 33% Failure - 0x
1) 0.33x0 + 0.33x1 + 0.33x 10 = 3.66x
3.66 x in 8 years is 18% IRR
2) 0.33x0 + 0.33x1 + 0.33 x 20 = 7x
7x in 8 years is 28% IRR
WHY ANGEL INVESTMENT
Investment Diversification
 If you have Rs 100 lakh to invest, how much will you allocate to Angel/Venture
Investment
5 to 20% of total assets
Example Asset Allocation US Pension Fund
 Private Equity/Venture Capital/ Angel , also known as Alternative Investments
 High Risk, High Return Asset Class
TYPICAL ANGEL INVESTMENT IN INDIA
Invest investor invests between 2 lakhs to 50 lakhs in one startup.
Expect returns in 5 to 10 years.
High Risk High Return Asset Class. Upto 40% of startups may return 0.
Expect 3x to 50x return. Unicorn return 100x+
In India an accredited investor should have a net worth of Rs 5 Crores.
Average Return for India Stock Market = 13 to 15%.
Expected Return from Venture/Angel hence is +5 to 10% over Indian stock
market = 18% to 25%
The broader the risk is spread, the better is risk diversification.
Typical Angel Round deal sizes = 50 lakhs to 5 Crore
As Angel investor you are investing in the person/team largely (more on it later)
GOAL OF AN
ANGEL
INVESTOR
1. Help startup with Funds
2. Guidance & Mentorship – aka Smart
Money
 Help startup with guidance, mentoring & connections
when asked for.
3. Help the company reach next stage –
 Where they can raise Venture Capital Funds, and
pass the baton
POSSIBLE WAYS TO EXIT
1. Exit during Series B or later, when Venture funds buyout the stake.
2. Company Sale – Strategic or Financial Buyer
3. IPO.
4. Company shutdown return partial money or AcquiHire.
WHY STARTUPS FAIL
❖ No Market Need
❖ Founder Conflicts & Team
❖ Run out of cash
❖ Product without Business Model
❖ Ignore Customers
❖ Outfunded/outcompeted
TYPICAL ANGEL INVESTMENT
PROCESS
1. Startup Pitch or Introduction
2. Subsequent Discussion to Screen the Idea
3. Lead Investor & Investor group formation.
4. Term Sheet to Founder
5. Due Diligence Process
6. Shareholder agreement Negotiation
7. Deal Close, Fund transfer
8. Monitoring the Deal/Company & Helping
9. Exit the company
HOW TO RAISE FUNDS What do investors look
for?
ENTREPRENEURSHIP
“ Entrepreneurship is the pursuit of
opportunity without regard to resources
currently controlled..“
Howard Stevenson, Professor, Harvard Business School
BUILDING A BUSINESS?
BUILDING A INVESTIBLE BUSINESS
CUSTOMER NEED
Unless the idea addresses an
apparent or latent need/pain point
for a customer, it cannot be turned
into a business.
CUSTOMER NEED - EXAMPLES
Bus Ticketing industry in India was largely
unorganized.
Consumer – Booking Buses tickets in peak season
was a Pain
Bus Operator - Inventory Management in real time
was a challenge.
Effective directory services
Consumer - Local yellow page
search with validated merchants
ABILITY TO MONETIZE
There has to be a clear, simple and
easy way to monetize your
service/product either directly by
users or indirectly (e.g. by advertisers
etc)
USP / COMPETITIVE
ADVANTAGE
Your edge over other players in the
market or the clear & unambiguous
Unique Selling Proposition for your
idea that makes a difference for the
customers
WHAT DO INVESTORS LOOK FOR ?
1. The Team [ 40%]
❖Integrity of Founders, Track Record
❖Complementary skills
❖Skin in the game of Founder
2. Investible Business [30%]
➢Market Size, High Growth
➢Product & Technology
➢Marketing & Sales Execution
➢Differentiation & Moat
➢Scalable
❖3. Valuation [ 20%]
❖4. Clean Structure [10%]
TYPE OF SEED INVESTORS & DIFFERENCES
❖Individuals
 Friends/Family
 Entrepreneurs/ Industry leaders
❖Groups
 Networks
❖Incubators/Accelerators
 Infrastructure only
 Accelerator
❖Seed Funds
 Institutional Funds -
 Individual LP funds –
❖Other Funds
 PE funds, Special Situation Funds
 Hedge Funds
❖ How do you reach out to investors
Best through a reference
a) Portfolio Company introductions are valued
Angel.co/Linkedin/Conference/News
WHEN ?
❖ Idea in a slide
❖ Prototype Ready
❖ Customer Traction
❖ Paying Customers
❖ Product-Market Fit
❖ Multiple customer segment
❖Business Model Fit
HOW MUCH ?
❖Raise Enough to reach the next milestone
❖What is the next Milestone ?
➢Venture Round [ $1M and more]
➢Institutional Angel Round [ $1M and less, typically below $500k ]
❖How do you know you are ready for
➢Venture Round
➢Institutional Angel Round
WHO TO RAISE MONEY FROM
❖ Depends on the stage
❖ Some thought processes
➢Smart Money > any money
➢Any money > No money [ If can’t bootstrap]
➢Institutional Money > Individual money
➢When given a choice of investors, choose based on
(1) Chemistry with investor,
(2) Willingness to help you,
(3) relevant connections/domain knowledge
MILESTONES, VALUATION AND RAISE
Milestones Stage Age Revenue Pre-Money Raise Amount From Whom
1 Venture Launched 0 to 0.5 yrs 0 50L 5 - 20 L Self, Friends, Family,
2 Beta Product Launched 0.5 to 1 yr Small amount 5 to 10 Cr 50L to 3 Cr
Self, Friends, Family,
Individual Angels, Accelerator
B2C : Product used by real customers, Few
paying customers
B2B: Good customer Pipline, 1-2 customers
in trial
3 Stable version 1 - 1.5 yr 10 - 15L /yr 10 to 20 Cr 1Cr to 6 Cr
Self, Accelerators, Seed
Funds, Individual Angels,
Regular Customer growth
4 Product-Market Fit Found 1 - 2 yrs 20L to 1 Cr/yr 15- 40 Cr 2Cr - 20Cr
Individual Angels, Seed
Funds, Few Venture firms
Strong and Consistent Customer growth
Clear product and revenue for next 2-3 yrs
5 Business Model Fit found 1.5 - 3 yrs 2Cr - 10Cr/yr 30Cr - 50 Cr 10Cr - 50Cr Venture Funds
Clear growth Path for next 3 - 5 yrs
Consistent growth in paying customers
Potentially breakeven
UNDERSTANDING VALUATION
❖Pre-Money Valuation + Invested amount = Post
Money Valuation
❖ Investor invests 1 crore at 4 crore valuation
 Post Money = 4 Cr + 1 Cr = 5 Cr
• Investor Stake = What is the right answer?
A) 25% (1Cr/4Cr)
B) 20% (1Cr/5Cr)
❖Typical Valuation Models apply for revenue companies
❖Revenue Multiple
❖DCF
DILUTION OVER LIFECYCLE
TERM SHEET BASICS – ECONOMIC RIGHTS
❖Liquidation Preference – Defines how cash is distributed on
liquidation to preferred stock-holders vs. common stockholders.
❖Participating vs. Non-participating.
❖Cap vs. No Cap
Participating Preference
2.0x
Non-Participating
Preference 2.0x
Investment Amount $5M $5M
% Stake 30% 30%
Equity Value in Sale $20M $20M
Investor’s share 2 x5M +30% x10M =
$13M
Max of {2x5M = $10M ,
30%x 20 = $6M } = $10M
Management share $7M $10M
TERM SHEET BASICS – ECONOMIC
RIGHTS
❖ Anti-Dilution
➢Clause comes into play when there is a down-round and the earlier
round investor can to protect his stake
➢Down –Round = Lower valuation in future rounds.
➢Series A = $1/share, Series B = $0.5/share
➢Two Types - Full Ratchet & Weighted Average
➢Full Ratchet – Series A is also brought at = $0.5/share, conversion rate 2:1, i.e 1x new
shares issued. Less common
➢Weighted average - More common.
TERM SHEET BASICS - CONTROL
INTERESTS
❖Tag-Along Rights
➢Management agrees not to sell without giving investors a right for pro-rata
participation in sale.
➢ If Promoters are selling some part of their shares in next round, the minority
investors also have the same rights.
❖Right of First Refusal
➢Existing investors have first right to buy any shares transferred (new fund raise or
buyback)
➢At-least pro-rata participation
❖Board Composition
➢Voting (Director)
➢Non-Voting positions (Observer, Advisory)
➢Investor Seat vs. Majority by founders
❖Investor Rights
➢Reports, Appointment of Auditors (internal & external)
CONVERTIBLE NOTE VS. STRAIGHT
EQUITY
❖Solves for Mismatch in expectation in Valuation & Investor
Expectation
❖SHA negotiation can take longer
Solution:
❖Deferred Valuation to next stage of funding
❖20% discount to Series A
❖Convertible Preference Shares (India Company law), compulsory converts to
Equity
❖Reference - https://www.100x.vc/isafe
TYPICAL TERMS IN SERIES AA
TERM SHEET
➢Liquidation – 1.0 participating or 1.5– 2.0x non
participating
➢Anti-Dilution – Weighted Average / Full Ratched
(common in India)
➢Tag Along/Drag Along
➢Board Seat + Board Observer
➢Valuation
➢Founder Vesting – 3 to 4 year
NON-OBVIOUS REASONS FOR
REJECTION
❖Structure/Others
➢Cap-table – Dead equity, Too much dilution
❖People Related
➢Founder and Team Chemistry
➢Reference Checks/ Litigation Threat
➢Coachability
➢Single Founder
➢Location
❖Market
➢Portfolio Company Competition
➢Bias regarding a space
SUMMARY
❖Angel investment is mainly an investment in the team + large
market size.
❖Entrepreneurship is like running a marathon. (with
several 100 meter sprints in middle)
 You need to set goals
 The beginning is the best part
 Its easier to do with support
 The preparation has a huge impact
 Things you don’t expect to go wrong, will go wrong
 You are crazy to think you can do it
 Running out of money (water) is bad
 Mental game. Emotional Roller Coaster
READING MATERIAL
ANGEL INVESTING
RESOURCES?
Resources
❖Book : Angel Investing: by David Rose
❖Naval Ravikant – Founder AngelList -
https://nav.al/angel-1
❖Series AA Term sheet – Techstars, YC
❖Angel.co - List of Angels
Entrepreneur Pitchbook – How to create one by
Canaan.
http://www.slideshare.net/canaanpartners/canaa
n-entrepreneur-pitchbook-presentation

Angel and Venture fundraising - A 360 perspective

  • 1.
    HOW TO RAISEANGEL/ SEED FUNDING FOR AGRIBUSINESS: INVESTOR PERSPECTIVE Ravi Trivedi Indian Administrative Fellowship, Agriculture Govt of Karnataka, & The/ Nudge Foundation Twitter: @trivediravi, [email protected] 28-Nov-2021 360 degree Perspective
  • 2.
    BACKGROUND Principal – USVenture Capital Fund 4 investments, 2 exits Investments Angel Investments Entrepreneur, Finance, & Tech Coupons for India, Malaysia, Singapore Web Push Notifications Platform 150+ Countries - [Acquired by Awesome Motive group] Founder Founder 7 investments, 3 partial exit, 1 exit Agriculture Equity Analyst Software Developer Focused on increasing farmer income Social Sector Mentor Advisory Board Parivaar
  • 3.
    AGENDA Types of Startup& Funding Needs Basics on Venture Capital & Angel Why & What of Angel Investment Typical Process of Fund raise What do investors look for in Investment Typical valuation in various stage Term Sheet Basics & typical term sheet in seed round
  • 4.
    TYPES OF STARTUPS FastGrowth, Funding Likely Required Organic Growth, Cash Flow Positive Example Software as a Service, Consumer, Agri-tech, Services Company, Ad Agency, Taxi Service, Restaurant Revenue Spend First, Earn Later Revenue from Operations immediately Funding Required May be needed at later stage for growth Risk Higher. [ Over 95% fail] Moderate Time Longer time to build a sustainable business. Need to commit 10 years ( 5 years min.) Building a sustainable business requires shorter duration Focus of this discussion
  • 5.
  • 6.
    ANGEL INVESTING VSVENTURE INVESTING Differences & Similarities
  • 7.
    VENTURE CAPITAL 101 Venture Capital Funds are professionally run  Fund life is often 10 years. Means Investment to Exit is between 5 to 8 years.  Offer Advice, HR management, Office Space etc.  Typically, Series A onwards or >$1M investments  They fund 1 in 100 plans  Often company > $1M in revenue at time of Venture funding  Often the next stage after Angel investment.
  • 8.
    VENTURE CAPITAL/ANGEL 101 Why? •A Pension fund needs to grow its funds to match the needs • Investment Diversification Source of Funds for Venture Capital
  • 9.
    VENTURE CAPITAL 101 Howdo VC make money ?  Sell or IPO the Invested Companies  Target 33/33/33 Rule  33 % Success – Most 2x to 10x, but Superhits can be 50x to 200x  33% Breakeven – 1x to 2x  33% Failure - 0x 1) 0.33x0 + 0.33x1 + 0.33x 10 = 3.66x 3.66 x in 8 years is 18% IRR 2) 0.33x0 + 0.33x1 + 0.33 x 20 = 7x 7x in 8 years is 28% IRR
  • 10.
    WHY ANGEL INVESTMENT InvestmentDiversification  If you have Rs 100 lakh to invest, how much will you allocate to Angel/Venture Investment 5 to 20% of total assets Example Asset Allocation US Pension Fund  Private Equity/Venture Capital/ Angel , also known as Alternative Investments  High Risk, High Return Asset Class
  • 11.
    TYPICAL ANGEL INVESTMENTIN INDIA Invest investor invests between 2 lakhs to 50 lakhs in one startup. Expect returns in 5 to 10 years. High Risk High Return Asset Class. Upto 40% of startups may return 0. Expect 3x to 50x return. Unicorn return 100x+ In India an accredited investor should have a net worth of Rs 5 Crores. Average Return for India Stock Market = 13 to 15%. Expected Return from Venture/Angel hence is +5 to 10% over Indian stock market = 18% to 25% The broader the risk is spread, the better is risk diversification. Typical Angel Round deal sizes = 50 lakhs to 5 Crore As Angel investor you are investing in the person/team largely (more on it later)
  • 12.
    GOAL OF AN ANGEL INVESTOR 1.Help startup with Funds 2. Guidance & Mentorship – aka Smart Money  Help startup with guidance, mentoring & connections when asked for. 3. Help the company reach next stage –  Where they can raise Venture Capital Funds, and pass the baton
  • 13.
    POSSIBLE WAYS TOEXIT 1. Exit during Series B or later, when Venture funds buyout the stake. 2. Company Sale – Strategic or Financial Buyer 3. IPO. 4. Company shutdown return partial money or AcquiHire.
  • 14.
    WHY STARTUPS FAIL ❖No Market Need ❖ Founder Conflicts & Team ❖ Run out of cash ❖ Product without Business Model ❖ Ignore Customers ❖ Outfunded/outcompeted
  • 15.
    TYPICAL ANGEL INVESTMENT PROCESS 1.Startup Pitch or Introduction 2. Subsequent Discussion to Screen the Idea 3. Lead Investor & Investor group formation. 4. Term Sheet to Founder 5. Due Diligence Process 6. Shareholder agreement Negotiation 7. Deal Close, Fund transfer 8. Monitoring the Deal/Company & Helping 9. Exit the company
  • 16.
    HOW TO RAISEFUNDS What do investors look for?
  • 17.
    ENTREPRENEURSHIP “ Entrepreneurship isthe pursuit of opportunity without regard to resources currently controlled..“ Howard Stevenson, Professor, Harvard Business School
  • 18.
  • 19.
  • 20.
    CUSTOMER NEED Unless theidea addresses an apparent or latent need/pain point for a customer, it cannot be turned into a business.
  • 21.
    CUSTOMER NEED -EXAMPLES Bus Ticketing industry in India was largely unorganized. Consumer – Booking Buses tickets in peak season was a Pain Bus Operator - Inventory Management in real time was a challenge. Effective directory services Consumer - Local yellow page search with validated merchants
  • 22.
    ABILITY TO MONETIZE Therehas to be a clear, simple and easy way to monetize your service/product either directly by users or indirectly (e.g. by advertisers etc)
  • 23.
    USP / COMPETITIVE ADVANTAGE Youredge over other players in the market or the clear & unambiguous Unique Selling Proposition for your idea that makes a difference for the customers
  • 24.
    WHAT DO INVESTORSLOOK FOR ? 1. The Team [ 40%] ❖Integrity of Founders, Track Record ❖Complementary skills ❖Skin in the game of Founder 2. Investible Business [30%] ➢Market Size, High Growth ➢Product & Technology ➢Marketing & Sales Execution ➢Differentiation & Moat ➢Scalable ❖3. Valuation [ 20%] ❖4. Clean Structure [10%]
  • 25.
    TYPE OF SEEDINVESTORS & DIFFERENCES ❖Individuals  Friends/Family  Entrepreneurs/ Industry leaders ❖Groups  Networks ❖Incubators/Accelerators  Infrastructure only  Accelerator ❖Seed Funds  Institutional Funds -  Individual LP funds – ❖Other Funds  PE funds, Special Situation Funds  Hedge Funds ❖ How do you reach out to investors Best through a reference a) Portfolio Company introductions are valued Angel.co/Linkedin/Conference/News
  • 26.
    WHEN ? ❖ Ideain a slide ❖ Prototype Ready ❖ Customer Traction ❖ Paying Customers ❖ Product-Market Fit ❖ Multiple customer segment ❖Business Model Fit
  • 27.
    HOW MUCH ? ❖RaiseEnough to reach the next milestone ❖What is the next Milestone ? ➢Venture Round [ $1M and more] ➢Institutional Angel Round [ $1M and less, typically below $500k ] ❖How do you know you are ready for ➢Venture Round ➢Institutional Angel Round
  • 28.
    WHO TO RAISEMONEY FROM ❖ Depends on the stage ❖ Some thought processes ➢Smart Money > any money ➢Any money > No money [ If can’t bootstrap] ➢Institutional Money > Individual money ➢When given a choice of investors, choose based on (1) Chemistry with investor, (2) Willingness to help you, (3) relevant connections/domain knowledge
  • 29.
    MILESTONES, VALUATION ANDRAISE Milestones Stage Age Revenue Pre-Money Raise Amount From Whom 1 Venture Launched 0 to 0.5 yrs 0 50L 5 - 20 L Self, Friends, Family, 2 Beta Product Launched 0.5 to 1 yr Small amount 5 to 10 Cr 50L to 3 Cr Self, Friends, Family, Individual Angels, Accelerator B2C : Product used by real customers, Few paying customers B2B: Good customer Pipline, 1-2 customers in trial 3 Stable version 1 - 1.5 yr 10 - 15L /yr 10 to 20 Cr 1Cr to 6 Cr Self, Accelerators, Seed Funds, Individual Angels, Regular Customer growth 4 Product-Market Fit Found 1 - 2 yrs 20L to 1 Cr/yr 15- 40 Cr 2Cr - 20Cr Individual Angels, Seed Funds, Few Venture firms Strong and Consistent Customer growth Clear product and revenue for next 2-3 yrs 5 Business Model Fit found 1.5 - 3 yrs 2Cr - 10Cr/yr 30Cr - 50 Cr 10Cr - 50Cr Venture Funds Clear growth Path for next 3 - 5 yrs Consistent growth in paying customers Potentially breakeven
  • 30.
    UNDERSTANDING VALUATION ❖Pre-Money Valuation+ Invested amount = Post Money Valuation ❖ Investor invests 1 crore at 4 crore valuation  Post Money = 4 Cr + 1 Cr = 5 Cr • Investor Stake = What is the right answer? A) 25% (1Cr/4Cr) B) 20% (1Cr/5Cr) ❖Typical Valuation Models apply for revenue companies ❖Revenue Multiple ❖DCF
  • 31.
  • 32.
    TERM SHEET BASICS– ECONOMIC RIGHTS ❖Liquidation Preference – Defines how cash is distributed on liquidation to preferred stock-holders vs. common stockholders. ❖Participating vs. Non-participating. ❖Cap vs. No Cap Participating Preference 2.0x Non-Participating Preference 2.0x Investment Amount $5M $5M % Stake 30% 30% Equity Value in Sale $20M $20M Investor’s share 2 x5M +30% x10M = $13M Max of {2x5M = $10M , 30%x 20 = $6M } = $10M Management share $7M $10M
  • 33.
    TERM SHEET BASICS– ECONOMIC RIGHTS ❖ Anti-Dilution ➢Clause comes into play when there is a down-round and the earlier round investor can to protect his stake ➢Down –Round = Lower valuation in future rounds. ➢Series A = $1/share, Series B = $0.5/share ➢Two Types - Full Ratchet & Weighted Average ➢Full Ratchet – Series A is also brought at = $0.5/share, conversion rate 2:1, i.e 1x new shares issued. Less common ➢Weighted average - More common.
  • 34.
    TERM SHEET BASICS- CONTROL INTERESTS ❖Tag-Along Rights ➢Management agrees not to sell without giving investors a right for pro-rata participation in sale. ➢ If Promoters are selling some part of their shares in next round, the minority investors also have the same rights. ❖Right of First Refusal ➢Existing investors have first right to buy any shares transferred (new fund raise or buyback) ➢At-least pro-rata participation ❖Board Composition ➢Voting (Director) ➢Non-Voting positions (Observer, Advisory) ➢Investor Seat vs. Majority by founders ❖Investor Rights ➢Reports, Appointment of Auditors (internal & external)
  • 35.
    CONVERTIBLE NOTE VS.STRAIGHT EQUITY ❖Solves for Mismatch in expectation in Valuation & Investor Expectation ❖SHA negotiation can take longer Solution: ❖Deferred Valuation to next stage of funding ❖20% discount to Series A ❖Convertible Preference Shares (India Company law), compulsory converts to Equity ❖Reference - https://www.100x.vc/isafe
  • 36.
    TYPICAL TERMS INSERIES AA TERM SHEET ➢Liquidation – 1.0 participating or 1.5– 2.0x non participating ➢Anti-Dilution – Weighted Average / Full Ratched (common in India) ➢Tag Along/Drag Along ➢Board Seat + Board Observer ➢Valuation ➢Founder Vesting – 3 to 4 year
  • 37.
    NON-OBVIOUS REASONS FOR REJECTION ❖Structure/Others ➢Cap-table– Dead equity, Too much dilution ❖People Related ➢Founder and Team Chemistry ➢Reference Checks/ Litigation Threat ➢Coachability ➢Single Founder ➢Location ❖Market ➢Portfolio Company Competition ➢Bias regarding a space
  • 38.
    SUMMARY ❖Angel investment ismainly an investment in the team + large market size. ❖Entrepreneurship is like running a marathon. (with several 100 meter sprints in middle)  You need to set goals  The beginning is the best part  Its easier to do with support  The preparation has a huge impact  Things you don’t expect to go wrong, will go wrong  You are crazy to think you can do it  Running out of money (water) is bad  Mental game. Emotional Roller Coaster
  • 39.
  • 40.
    ANGEL INVESTING RESOURCES? Resources ❖Book :Angel Investing: by David Rose ❖Naval Ravikant – Founder AngelList - https://nav.al/angel-1 ❖Series AA Term sheet – Techstars, YC ❖Angel.co - List of Angels Entrepreneur Pitchbook – How to create one by Canaan. http://www.slideshare.net/canaanpartners/canaa n-entrepreneur-pitchbook-presentation