#INBOUND16
BUILD A DATA-DRIVEN
CUSTOMER JOURNEY
Christopher S. Penn
@cspenn | cspenn.com
@shiftcomm | shiftcomm.com
#INBOUND16
Build a Data-Driven Customer Journey
2
@shiftcomm
@cspenn
Shiftcomm.com
Cspenn.com
#INBOUND16
The Good Old Days
of Marketing
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The Problem
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On target to 72.9 million in 2016
#INBOUND16
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Kristian Bjornard
“Dark Social”
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We can’t win by
volume.
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The Impact
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Clients cutting back on training, sales employees,
overhead – and agencies are overhead
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Unfocused Marketing
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Staff Burnout
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3 Solutions
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Become Data-Driven.
Understand the
journey.
Understand the tech.
Value your goals.
#INBOUND16
Become Data-Driven.
Understand the
journey.
Understand the tech.
Value your goals.
#INBOUND16
Make decisions
with
data first
#INBOUND16
Which direction to
go from Reno to
San Diego?
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A Data-Driven Example
#INBOUND16
This is your company driven by intuition
#INBOUND16
This is your company driven by data
#INBOUND16
Data-
Resistant
• Organization
actively resists
data
Data-Aware
• Organization is
data-curious
• Data stage
Data-Guided
• Organization
begins to use
data in
production
• Analysis stage
Data-Savvy
• Organization
uses data in
most production
processes
• Insight stage
Data-Driven
• Organization
becomes data-
first
• Strategic stage
Your Journey to the Data-Driven
Company
Copyright © 2016 SHIFT Communications | @shiftcomm |
shiftcomm.com
#INBOUND16
Understand how data
works.
#INBOUND16
Become Data-Driven.
Understand the
journey.
Understand the tech.
Value your goals.
#INBOUND16
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Funnels are for marketers at the expense of
customers.
Journeys are for customers at the expense of
marketers.
#INBOUND16Source: McKinsey
#INBOUND16
Awareness
Consideratio
n
Evaluation
Purchase
Ownership
Evangelism
Loyalty
The Customer Experience:
Buyer’s Journey
Owner’s Journey
@cspenn
cspenn.com
#INBOUND16
Become Data-Driven.
Understand the
journey.
Understand the tech.
Value your goals.
#INBOUND16
WHAT ARE WE
EVEN LOOKING AT?
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WHAT ARE WE
EVEN LOOKING AT?
#INBOUND16
TOOLS ARE
NOT FIRST
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Awareness
Consideratio
n
Evaluation
Purchase
Ownership
Evangelism
Loyalty
Map Tools to The Customer
Experience:
Buyer’s Journey
Owner’s Journey
@cspenn
cspenn.com
#INBOUND16
Strategy
• Why
People
• Who
Process
• What
Technology
• How
Execution
• When
Measurement
• Did it work?
Proper Order of MarTech Stack Deployment
#INBOUND16
Google Tag Manager
Google Analytics Google Optimize
Google Data Studio
Google AdWords
Google Sheets
BigQuery / Cloud SQL /
MySQL
The Google Analytics™
Ecosystem
Copyright © 2016 Christopher S. Penn | @cspenn | christopherspenn.com
All terms and product names are copyrighted to Google or respective entities.
#INBOUND16
Become Data-Driven.
Understand the
journey.
Understand the tech.
Value your goals.
#INBOUND16
CLTV – CAC =NCV
#INBOUND16
CLTV – CAC =NCV
$100,000 – $10,000 = $90,000 = NCV
#INBOUND16
CLTV – CAC =NCV
$100,000 – $10,000 = $90,000 = NCV
NCV x SCR = NDV
#INBOUND16
CLTV – CAC =NCV
$100,000 – $10,000 = $90,000 = NCV
NCV x SCR = NDV
$90,000 x 0.25 = $22,500 = NDV
#INBOUND16
CLTV – CAC =NCV
$100,000 – $10,000 = $90,000 = NCV
NCV x SCR = NDV
$90,000 x 0.25 = $22,500 = NDV
NDV x DCR = SQLV
#INBOUND16
CLTV – CAC =NCV
$100,000 – $10,000 = $90,000 = NCV
NCV x SCR = NDV
$90,000 x 0.25 = $22,500 = NDV
NDV x DCR = SQLV
$22,500 x 0.75 = $16,875 = SQLV
#INBOUND16
CLTV – CAC =NCV
$100,000 – $10,000 = $90,000 = NCV
NCV x SCR = NDV
$90,000 x 0.25 = $22,500 = NDV
NDV x DCR = SQLV
$22,500 x 0.75 = $16,875 = SQLV
SQLV x QR = MQLV
#INBOUND16
CLTV – CAC =NCV
$100,000 – $10,000 = $90,000 = NCV
NCV x SCR = NDV
$90,000 x 0.25 = $22,500 = NDV
NDV x DCR = SQLV
$22,500 x 0.75 = $16,875 = SQLV
SQLV x QR = MQLV
$16,875 x 0.25 = $4,219 = MQLV
#INBOUND16
CLTV – CAC =NCV
$100,000 – $10,000 = $90,000 = NCV
NCV x SCR = NDV
$90,000 x 0.25 = $22,500 = NDV
NDV x DCR = SQLV
$22,500 x 0.75 = $16,875 = SQLV
SQLV x QR = MQLV
$16,875 x 0.25 = $4,219 = MQLV
MQLV x PQR = PV
#INBOUND16
CLTV – CAC =NCV
$100,000 – $10,000 = $90,000 = NCV
NCV x SCR = NDV
$90,000 x 0.25 = $22,500 = NDV
NDV x DCR = SQLV
$22,500 x 0.75 = $16,875 = SQLV
SQLV x QR = MQLV
$16,875 x 0.25 = $4,219 = MQLV
MQLV x PQR = PV
$4,219 x 0.01 = $42 = PV
#INBOUND16
CLTV – CAC =NCV
$100,000 – $10,000 = $90,000 = NCV
NCV x SCR = NDV
$90,000 x 0.25 = $22,500 = NDV
NDV x DCR = SQLV
$22,500 x 0.75 = $16,875 = SQLV
SQLV x QR = MQLV
$16,875 x 0.25 = $4,219 = MQLV
MQLV x PQR = PV
$4,219 x 0.01 = $42 = PV
#INBOUND16
CLTV – CAC =NCV
$100,000 – $10,000 = $90,000 = NCV
NCV x SCR = NDV
$90,000 x 0.25 = $22,500 = NDV
NDV x DCR = SQLV
$22,500 x 0.75 = $16,875 = SQLV
SQLV x QR = MQLV
$16,875 x 0.25 = $4,219 = MQLV
MQLV x PQR = PV
$4,219 x 0.01 = $42 = PV
#INBOUND16
Become Data-Driven.
Understand the
journey.
Understand the tech.
Value your goals.
#INBOUND16
Build a Data-Driven Buyer's Journey
60
#INBOUND1661
Build a Data-Driven Buyer's Journey
#INBOUND1662
Build a Data-Driven Buyer's Journey
#INBOUND1663
Build a Data-Driven Buyer's Journey
#INBOUND1664
Build a Data-Driven Buyer's Journey
#INBOUND1665
Build a Data-Driven Buyer's Journey
#INBOUND1666
Build a Data-Driven Buyer's Journey
#INBOUND16
Build a Data-Driven Buyer's Journey
#INBOUND16
How to get to the future
#INBOUND16
Become Data-Driven.
Understand the
journey.
Understand the tech.
Value your goals.
#INBOUND16
Developers
#INBOUND16
Data Scientists
#INBOUND16
Marketing Technologists
#INBOUND16
#INBOUND16
For a complete writeup of the
customer journey process as a free
eBook, visit:
WhereCanIGetTheSlides.com
Now would be a great time to take a
picture with your phone.
#INBOUND16
Build a Data-Driven Customer Journey
75
@shiftcomm
@cspenn
Shiftcomm.com
Cspenn.com

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Christopher Penn - Build a Data-Driven Customer Journey