Tomasz Tunguz
Partner, Redpoint Ventures
• I write about SaaS startups at tomtunguz.com
• Redpoint works with many as-a-Service companies
including Stripe, Twilio, Zuora, Zendesk, Looker, Infer,
Tidemark, and Expensify
• Former PM at Google; statistics nut
Why CS Is Critical
Happy customers, better product
Grow faster
Decrease capital needs
Hypothetical SaaS Company
$50k in MRR
50 customers at $1k ARR each
$1250 in CAC, Sales Efficiency of 0.8
Growing 15% m/m
How Much to Spend on CS?
Expected Value =
Save Rate x Value of Extension =
30% x 12 months x $83/month =
$298 or about 30% of ACV
Return on Investment?
2 pp decrease in churn
- Increases revenue by 50%
- Decreases S&M spend by 30%

Gainsight Pulse Presentation by Tom Tunguz

  • 1.
    Tomasz Tunguz Partner, RedpointVentures • I write about SaaS startups at tomtunguz.com • Redpoint works with many as-a-Service companies including Stripe, Twilio, Zuora, Zendesk, Looker, Infer, Tidemark, and Expensify • Former PM at Google; statistics nut
  • 2.
    Why CS IsCritical Happy customers, better product Grow faster Decrease capital needs
  • 3.
    Hypothetical SaaS Company $50kin MRR 50 customers at $1k ARR each $1250 in CAC, Sales Efficiency of 0.8 Growing 15% m/m
  • 9.
    How Much toSpend on CS? Expected Value = Save Rate x Value of Extension = 30% x 12 months x $83/month = $298 or about 30% of ACV
  • 10.
    Return on Investment? 2pp decrease in churn - Increases revenue by 50% - Decreases S&M spend by 30%